Xonotic not working on ASUS U36SD Sabayon 11 MATE

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Xonotic not working on ASUS U36SD Sabayon 11 MATE

Postby Atle » Wed Apr 03, 2013 17:49

Hi folks...

All new to Sabayon as I found it during a search for something that supports my GeForce 520M card with Optimus.

Everything works out of the box, apart from the game Xonotic that has GLX and SDL modes, but with GLX nothing happens, but with SDL the screen flickers a little and then nothing happens...

I think there might be some issues with the ASUS U36 and the GeForce in general, but i might be wrong? As in for Linux in general...

I hope to be able to play this game as it great to show off a bit with your normally not THAT playable linux box:-)

Any ideas of where things went wrong?

I installed, updated and then went straight for Xonotic. I have tried to start it from command line, but are lame at that being a Puppy Linux user for a long time. I have tried to start it online and offline...

Atle
Atle
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 17:37

Re: Xonotic not working on ASUS U36SD Sabayon 11 MATE

Postby ReemZ » Wed Apr 03, 2013 23:41

Atle wrote:I have tried to start it from command line

...did you get any error messages? Might be worth posting...
Handtekening? Zeg...ik ga niet op m'n monitor schrijven!
ReemZ
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 701
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:50
Location: Here! No, here! Over heeeeeeere!

Re: Xonotic not working on ASUS U36SD Sabayon 11 MATE

Postby Atle » Thu Apr 04, 2013 13:39

Hi ReemZ...Honestly i do not know how to start it...

i tried sudo Xonotic and then had to enter my password and then nothing happen... command unknown...

Been away from "sudoland" for many years and do not know how to handle that to well...
Atle
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 17:37

Re: Xonotic not working on ASUS U36SD Sabayon 11 MATE

Postby Ryuno-Ki » Thu Apr 04, 2013 13:59

Atle wrote:sudo Xonotic


Linux is case sensitive. Have you tried the lowercase variant?
However, there's a complete list of CLI paramters online for Xonotic 3.
HP-Pavilion ◆ AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 4000+ ◆ GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 ◆ 1 GiB RAM
German Wiki translator ◆ Want to contribute on the wiki? Ask the Bureaucrats!
Please, mark solved threads ◆ Posts unread and unansweredPackage requests ◆ Sabayon XI with MATE
Ryuno-Ki
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 22:15
Location: Southern Germany

Re: Xonotic not working on ASUS U36SD Sabayon 11 MATE

Postby Atle » Thu Apr 04, 2013 14:04

I tried the lowercase as well

sudo xonotic

same error message(command not found)

And that full list of commands is like greek to me.... If this is the way i run the game i think i give up Xonotic...

I like to use the menu and have a graphical interface in 2013.
Atle
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 17:37

Re: Xonotic not working on ASUS U36SD Sabayon 11 MATE

Postby Atle » Thu Apr 04, 2013 14:29

I tried to install BZflag the 3D tank game to test the 3D function and it seems like its the driver for Nvidia GeForce 520M that is failing...
Atle
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 17:37

Re: Xonotic not working on ASUS U36SD Sabayon 11 MATE

Postby Atle » Thu Apr 04, 2013 14:44

So its not a issue about the games, but the fact that my grapich card is failing in Sabayon... Any ideas on some tests or workaround? http://www.geforce.com/hardware/noteboo ... ce-gt-520m

UPDATE... Found this text about bumblebee in Ubuntu...

************************************************************************************************************

High end graphics card (Nvidia)

Since the laptop uses the so called Optimus technology, support for the high end graphics card is a bit limited. However, it is still possible to use it, by offloading a certain application (such as a game) to the nvidia card and then copying the content onto the Intel graphics buffer using VirtualGL.

One simple way of doing this is by installing Bumblebee. Simply call the following commands to install:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:bumblebee/stable
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install bumblebee bumblebee-nvidia
sudo usermod -a -G bumblebee $USER

Now log out, and then log in again.

To run programs making them use the nVidia card you need to use the command "optirun". For example to run "openarena" open a terminal and write "optirun openarena".

**************************************************

I did this and it turns out that the bumblebee is not working or loaded...

sudo optirun gives:

Bumblebee daemon has not been started yet or the socket path /var/run/bumblebee.socket was incorret

I now try to reinstall bumblebee:-)
Atle
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 17:37

Re: Xonotic not working on ASUS U36SD Sabayon 11 MATE

Postby ReemZ » Thu Apr 04, 2013 18:23

First of all, two things:
1. Don't start games (or any other application) as root, only as user.
2. We don't do 'sudo' in Sabayon, use 'su' for administrative tasks.

Bumblebee and bbswitch are installed by default. Check that bbswitch matches the kernel you're using.
I assume you replaced the apt-get commands with their equo counterparts...
Handtekening? Zeg...ik ga niet op m'n monitor schrijven!
ReemZ
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 701
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:50
Location: Here! No, here! Over heeeeeeere!

Re: Xonotic not working on ASUS U36SD Sabayon 11 MATE

Postby Atle » Thu Apr 04, 2013 18:31

Hi ReemZ

I just run it as user.. not as root. This much i know(that i am user) :-)

I did sudo, but can try SU... I guess there should be the correct bbswitch in Sabayon 11 MATE? But its a issue to check for sure...

Finding out what bbswitch that fits whatever kernel i run is above my skills... If i can "su" it, please give me what to type
Atle
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 17:37

Re: Xonotic not working on ASUS U36SD Sabayon 11 MATE

Postby ReemZ » Thu Apr 04, 2013 21:01

First things first: if you use either 'sudo' or 'su', you are root.
Never do this unless you 1. have to and 2. know what you're doing.
Be sure to read through wikis and forums to learn as much as possible about how a GNU/Linux system works.

I'd like to see the output of the following commands:
Code: Select all
eselect kernel list
uname -r
equo query installed bumblebee bbswitch nvidia

Also, now issue 'su' to become root (be sure to "stop being root" by typing 'exit' when you're done!) and get the VGA part of the output of
Code: Select all
lspci -knn

Lastly, as user, start Xonotic from a terminal, copy the whole output and paste it.

Obviously, don't paste large output here, but use the Sabayon Pastebin.
Handtekening? Zeg...ik ga niet op m'n monitor schrijven!
ReemZ
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 701
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:50
Location: Here! No, here! Over heeeeeeere!

Next

Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron