Sabayon 11 starts as command line

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Sabayon 11 starts as command line

Postby mrizzone » Tue Feb 26, 2013 17:45

How I can switch to GUI?


Thanks!
mrizzone
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 23:56

Re: Sabayon 11 starts as command line

Postby colock » Tue Feb 26, 2013 21:17

The "normal" behaviour of Sabayon 11 installation media are to bring up a graphical environnment.

If it does not, it means it fails to load or detect the graphic drivers.

Try using "Safe Mode" instead and see if it works this way.
colock
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 12:01

Re: Sabayon 11 starts as command line

Postby svantoviit » Tue Feb 26, 2013 22:19

What flavor did you install? Gnome? Kde? Anything different?
Some info on your hardware would help too - lspci.
A log would be also fine - rc.log, dmesg and Xorg.0.log for example.
svantoviit
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 17:55

Re: Sabayon 11 starts as command line

Postby wolfden » Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:23

By all the new topics you are making, you might just want to stop and take some time and do some reading on the wiki as you are getting some pretty weird things. I think this is due to you not understanding what you are doing as you are breaking a lot of things it seems.

For proper help you need to provide

How to reproduce
What you did prior to breakage
What OS/DE are you running
Logs
Errors
Hardware

Otherwise it's a cat and mouse game trying to figure stuff out.
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA


Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest