gpg don't work under ctrl alt F1 terminal [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

gpg don't work under ctrl alt F1 terminal [Solved]

Postby mrizzone » Sat Feb 23, 2013 0:01

Hello! When I open a terminal with CTRL ALT F1 and run gpg, it fails in generating a new key. The process is OK until the end, when i get this message:

pinentry 12311 gtk warning ** cannot open display
gpg agent 12310 can't connect to the pin entry module: end of file
gpg agent 12310 command get_passphrase cancelled: no pinentry

Works OK when I run gpg under GUI terminal. Any clue?

Thanks!
Last edited by mrizzone on Sat Feb 23, 2013 16:50, edited 1 time in total.
mrizzone
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 23:56

Re: gpg don't work under CTRL ALT F1 terminal

Postby Ryuno-Ki » Sat Feb 23, 2013 0:33

The virtual command, which you use via Ctrl+Alt+F1, has no DISPLAY var.
Code: Select all
DISPLAY=:0 yourgpgcommandhere


Not tested, but Gtk is a graphic library ;)
HP-Pavilion ◆ AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 4000+ ◆ GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 ◆ 1 GiB RAM
German Wiki translator ◆ Want to contribute on the wiki? Ask the Bureaucrats!
Please, mark solved threads ◆ Posts unread and unansweredPackage requests ◆ Sabayon XI with MATE
Ryuno-Ki
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 22:15
Location: Southern Germany

Re: gpg don't work under CTRL ALT F1 terminal

Postby svantoviit » Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:47

I would try to
  1. edit ~/.gnupg/gpg-agent.conf and change
    Code: Select all
    pinentry-program /usr/bin/pinentry-gtk-2
    to
    Code: Select all
    pinentry-program /usr/bin/pinentry-curses

    Update: This method actually works for me
    After editing the conf file you need to restart the agent
    Code: Select all
    gpgconf --reload gpg-agent

    In addition I have the following lines in my ~/.bashrc
    Code: Select all
    GPG_TTY=$(tty)
    export GPG_TTY
    but actually don't know if it's really needed.

    or
  2. change the pinentry implementation using eselect
    Code: Select all
    $ eselect pinentry list
    Available pinentry implementations:
      [1]   pinentry-gtk-2 *
      [2]   pinentry-qt4
      [3]   pinentry-curses
    $ eselect pinentry set 3

Comment: The DISPLAY method as suggested by Ryuno-Ki displays the pinentry-gtk window in your running X, so you could switch to it (Ctrl-Alt-F7) and enter the password there.
svantoviit
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 17:55

Re: gpg don't work under CTRL ALT F1 terminal

Postby Ryuno-Ki » Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:37

svantoviit wrote:
Code: Select all
GPG_TTY=$(tty)
export GPG_TTY


You can put that in one line:
Code: Select all
export FOO=$(echo 'bar')


svantoviit wrote:Comment: The DISPLAY method as suggested by Ryuno-Ki displays the pinentry-gtk window in your running X, so you could switch to it (Ctrl-Alt-F7) and enter the password there.


Correct.
HP-Pavilion ◆ AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 4000+ ◆ GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 ◆ 1 GiB RAM
German Wiki translator ◆ Want to contribute on the wiki? Ask the Bureaucrats!
Please, mark solved threads ◆ Posts unread and unansweredPackage requests ◆ Sabayon XI with MATE
Ryuno-Ki
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 22:15
Location: Southern Germany

Re: gpg don't work under CTRL ALT F1 terminal

Postby mrizzone » Sat Feb 23, 2013 15:29

Whit gpgconf --reload gpg-agent was enough. Works better than new, thanks!
mrizzone
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 23:56



Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests