Sabayon10 32vs64

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Sabayon10 32vs64

Postby coa » Mon Feb 04, 2013 19:32

Which version gives better performance Sabayon10 32 or 64bit? What is your choice and why? I found some old topic about Gentoo, but want to know what you think today. Thanks!
coa
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 18:18

Re: Sabayon10 32vs64

Postby sabayonino » Mon Feb 04, 2013 19:41

coa wrote:Which version gives better performance Sabayon10 32 or 64bit? What is your choice and why? I found some old topic about Gentoo, but want to know what you think today. Thanks!

today ?

64 for 64
32 ... for 32

:mrgreen:
User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2512
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy

Re: Sabayon10 32vs64

Postby Ryuno-Ki » Mon Feb 04, 2013 20:33

coa wrote:Which version gives better performance Sabayon10 32 or 64bit?

Depends on your hardware. You may want to read about the difference between 32Bit and 64Bit on wikipedia.
In short it depends on how much RAM you need.
You can do nothing wrong, if you choose 32Bit.
HP-Pavilion ◆ AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 4000+ ◆ GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 ◆ 1 GiB RAM
German Wiki translator ◆ Want to contribute on the wiki? Ask the Bureaucrats!
Please, mark solved threads ◆ Posts unread and unansweredPackage requests ◆ Sabayon XI with MATE
Ryuno-Ki
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 22:15
Location: Southern Germany

Re: Sabayon10 32vs64

Postby coa » Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:28

Thanks. I read that some distros don't have some packages for 64bit platforms, and that in some cases 32bit distro gives better results. I download amd64 but must to wait almost less than two hours to update system. Can this done with daily image maybe? Is daily image same as september release after update?
coa
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 18:18

Re: Sabayon10 32vs64

Postby Ryuno-Ki » Wed Feb 06, 2013 19:11

coa wrote:Thanks. I read that some distros don't have some packages for 64bit platforms, and that in some cases 32bit distro gives better results.

Uhm, yeah. But that's rather a problem on software's side. If I remember correctly, then Skype is just 32Bit. However, you can run it with 64Bit, too. In this case, there will be some library used, which "translate" between your architecture and the software's expectatitions ;-)

coa wrote:I download amd64 but must to wait almost less than two hours to update system. Can this done with daily image maybe? Is daily image same as september release after update?

Daily image is recent. So all updates are already done. Be careful to not run in issues like this one with legacy NVIDIA graphic drivers …
HP-Pavilion ◆ AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 4000+ ◆ GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 ◆ 1 GiB RAM
German Wiki translator ◆ Want to contribute on the wiki? Ask the Bureaucrats!
Please, mark solved threads ◆ Posts unread and unansweredPackage requests ◆ Sabayon XI with MATE
Ryuno-Ki
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 22:15
Location: Southern Germany

Re: Sabayon10 32vs64

Postby linuxfluesterer » Wed Feb 06, 2013 21:50

As said before, it depends on hardware.
I see, Ryuno-Ki has a 64bit machine but with 1GByte Ram only.
64bit software needs more Ram, 32bit Software can be run by translation in a 64bit environment.
In my case, I do only use 64bit, but I have enough Ram. Too less memory space can initiate swapping rather early and slows down your system.
So, on this AMD 64bit machine, I would install a 32 bit SL.
If possible, then I would increase your Ram to 2 GByte (better more) and then I would recommend 64.
Linux has more 64 bit software than Windows and can better manage it than Windows Vista or 7.
Love your Linux, and give your Linux the best OS architecture matching to your system constallation.
Increase your Ram anyway, if possible.

Linux deserves best, and not second choice hardware. That is my motto.

I love KDE ..., Linuxfluesterer
I really hope, that by the Brexit (poor Britain), TTIP will be finally prevented. But don't get tired to talk to your local politician to open eyes for danger to democracy because of TTIP
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 703
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: Sabayon10 32vs64

Postby nachoig » Thu Feb 07, 2013 20:51

coa wrote:Thanks. I read that some distros don't have some packages for 64bit platforms, and that in some cases 32bit distro gives better results. I download amd64 but must to wait almost less than two hours to update system. Can this done with daily image maybe? Is daily image same as september release after update?


Just a noite, I used 32 bit software like Skype and Google Earth on Sabayon 64 bit and it worked well. (=
nachoig
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 20:19

Re: Sabayon10 32vs64

Postby Ryuno-Ki » Thu Feb 07, 2013 21:05

linuxfluesterer wrote:Too less memory space can initiate swapping rather early and slows down your system.

I can only monitor this, when visiting plus.google.com with Firefox. So my system is pretty quick (for my needs). But yes, swaps fill early.

linuxfluesterer wrote:So, on this AMD 64bit machine, I would install a 32 bit SL.

Someone told me, to install 64Bit in the beginning. Hm, I have to do something with my Ubuntu Lucid the next month, maybe I install Sabayon XI 32Bit and move /home … Let's see.

linuxfluesterer wrote:If possible, then I would increase your Ram to 2 GByte (better more) and then I would recommend 64.

I'm not familiar with hardware stuff. However, I need a new box sooner or later, so tweaking isn't much appealing to me …
HP-Pavilion ◆ AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 4000+ ◆ GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 ◆ 1 GiB RAM
German Wiki translator ◆ Want to contribute on the wiki? Ask the Bureaucrats!
Please, mark solved threads ◆ Posts unread and unansweredPackage requests ◆ Sabayon XI with MATE
Ryuno-Ki
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 22:15
Location: Southern Germany

Re: Sabayon10 32vs64

Postby tollgate » Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:36

I would say for systems with 4Gb or more of RAM use 64 bit. Less than 4Gb, may as well stick to 32 bit.
tollgate
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 3:57
Location: Jomtien, Thailand

Re: Sabayon10 32vs64

Postby pherynk » Fri Feb 08, 2013 9:17

I think the same like tollgate. No problem with skype on 64 bit.
pherynk
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 18:24


Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron