Rigo/Fonts Issues with latest updates [Solved]

Anything that pertains to Entropy, Equo or Sulfur

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Square boxes instead of letters

Postby Honeyman » Sat Jan 26, 2013 12:22

I had the exact same problem on Sabayon 10 XFCE desktop environment (and before that on the MATE version), but fortunately I got it solved. During the update process the 'locale'-settings get screwed up somehow, so we have to change them back to our preferred configuration

Change to the terminal via ALT-CTRL+F2 and become ROOT

Then change 'locale'-settings to the value you prefer. For example to get English-US settings type:
Code: Select all
export LANG=en_US.UTF8
env-update


This defines the language for all 'locale'-configurations, but allows to modify sub-configurations LC_* individually, like using a different standard paper size, e.g.

You can find more information on 'locales' in the Gentoo Wiki http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/guide-localization.xml.

An externsive description of environment settings for Linux in general is offered by the Ubuntu community here: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/EnvironmentVariables#Locale_setting_variables

In order to check what 'locale'-settings are applied type:
Code: Select all
locale


This worked for me,

Pascal
Je me regarde pour me désoler,
je me compare pour me consoler

Maurice de Talleyrand
Honeyman
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 2:25
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Square boxes instead of letters

Postby pottzie » Sat Jan 26, 2013 16:35

copied 'equo install x11-libs/gdk-pixbuf x11-libs/gtk+:2 x11-libs/gtk+:3 x11-libs/pango' per dunserfin's suggestion, rebooted and now my computer speaks English!

Thanks! Do I need to mark this as solved?
pottzie
Young Hen
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 2:42

Re: Square boxes instead of letters

Postby dunsurfin » Sat Jan 26, 2013 17:52

pottzie wrote: Thanks! Do I need to mark this as solved?


Yes please. Just edit the title of your first post. Thank you.
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Sabayon10-amd64-Xfce-rectangles [Solved]

Postby loverollingrelease » Mon Jan 28, 2013 18:45

Hi guys,

today I installed sabayon10 and did a complete update following the guide what to do after a fresh install
http://wiki.sabayon.org/index.php?title ... t_to_do.3F

After the reboot everything just showed rectangles where the normal font should be(that's why I can't provide more information like sceenshots).


TIA
Last edited by loverollingrelease on Mon Jan 28, 2013 20:22, edited 1 time in total.
loverollingrelease
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 21:14

Re: Sabayon10-amd64-Xfce-rectangles

Postby Ryuno-Ki » Mon Jan 28, 2013 19:53

This topic was discussed several times by now. Mate and GNOME users are also effect.
Just one example.

If the problem still remains, just claim :)
HP-Pavilion ◆ AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 4000+ ◆ GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 ◆ 1 GiB RAM
German Wiki translator ◆ Want to contribute on the wiki? Ask the Bureaucrats!
Please, mark solved threads ◆ Posts unread and unansweredPackage requests ◆ Sabayon XI with MATE
Ryuno-Ki
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 22:15
Location: Southern Germany

Re: Sabayon10-amd64-Xfce-rectangles

Postby loverollingrelease » Mon Jan 28, 2013 20:22

Thanks a lot for the fast reply,

found the solution and got it working, thank you Ryuno-Ki.
loverollingrelease
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 21:14

Re: Square boxes instead of letters [Solved]

Postby Johnny Who » Wed Jan 30, 2013 21:43

Listen: It happened to me 2 days ago, in an old laptop with sabayon Mate after upgrade.... I reached a terminal, and blindly typed:
Code: Select all
su
equo install x11-libs/pang

then rebooted. And it was fixed. :lol:
Johnny Who
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:51

Sabayon only shows squares instead of characters [Solved]

Postby Genitux » Fri Feb 01, 2013 19:25

I just installed my first Sabayon Linux (from an .iso with Version 10 using MATE), booted it up and made a full system upgrade as the system suggested. After that text in newly opened windows was replaced by squares. After rebooting it even looks like this:
Image
What happened here? Maybe I should add that I'm using Sabayon in German.

Edit:
I tried installing x11-libs/pang as described here but it didn't help.
Last edited by Genitux on Fri Feb 01, 2013 22:34, edited 1 time in total.
Using Sabayon 10 MATE and Ubuntu 12.04 LTS on Laptop, Ubuntu 10.04 LTS on Server and Gentoo on VM.
Genitux
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 19:09
Location: Lower Saxony, Germany

Re: Sabayon only shows squares instead of characters

Postby dunsurfin » Fri Feb 01, 2013 20:32

If you look again at that thread you will see that there is more to be installed.
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Sabayon only shows squares instead of characters

Postby Genitux » Fri Feb 01, 2013 22:33

Thank you!
All I had to do was to install x11-libs/gdk-pixbuf x11-libs/gtk+:2 x11-libs/gtk+:3 x11-libs/pango as mentioned in this thread http://forum.sabayon.org/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=28939

Does anyone know why a system upgrade removed them?
Using Sabayon 10 MATE and Ubuntu 12.04 LTS on Laptop, Ubuntu 10.04 LTS on Server and Gentoo on VM.
Genitux
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 19:09
Location: Lower Saxony, Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Entropy|Equo|Rigo Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron