!! not find the root block device in .

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

!! not find the root block device in .

Postby shailew » Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:41

Hi!

I have Windows Vista and two hard disks. I installed Sabayon KDE by created a partition on a disk where Windows Vista system "C" drive was not present. Sabayon installed and worked properly. Kernel was 3.5. Then I updated and Kernel 3.7 got installed but whenever I would start this new kernel it would not start graphical environment and would bring me to login. Kernel 3.5 was working properly and I reinstalled kernel 3.7 and meanwhile updated by system. When I restarted it gave me following error:
!! not find the root block device in .
I am unable to boot in any kernel nor in recovery mode. It always gives the above message. Please help.
shailew
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:20

Re: !! not find the root block device in .

Postby wolfden » Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:28

how did you install/upgrade the kernel?
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: !! not find the root block device in .

Postby dave_64 » Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:40

I don't know what that error message is, but, I would suggest that you do the system upgrade before the kernel upgrade. For myself, I only do kernel upgrades when I'm bored, or when the kernel is a year or two old.
By the way, what is your video card, and which sabayon kde did you install...sabayon 8? ,9? X? 32-bit or 64-bit?
Also keep in mind, the package manager will automatically install kernel revisions automatically, but new kernels must be installed manually. Generally, there are no issues when the package manager installs a REVISED kernel, but, when you install a NEW kernel, graphics issues must be addressed, especially for nvidia cards.
dave_64
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 20:33

Re: !! not find the root block device in .

Postby shailew » Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:45

@Wolfden
I did that through Rigo.
shailew
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:20

Re: !! not find the root block device in .

Postby wolfden » Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:47

you should be using kernel-switcher so it installs properly with all the modules - http://wiki.sabayon.org/index.php?title ... l_Switcher

you may want to boot up a live disc and try that
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: !! not find the root block device in .

Postby shailew » Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:49

Thanks.
I will try this when I go home today and let you know.
shailew
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:20

Re: !! not find the root block device in .

Postby shailew » Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:56

@Wolfden
Can you please give proper procedure to do this after booting from live cd? After booting through live cd will I be able to access and change installed Sabayon?
shailew
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:20

Re: !! not find the root block device in .

Postby wolfden » Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:58

wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: !! not find the root block device in .

Postby shailew » Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:06

@Wolfden

Thanks for quick reply. I will try this in the evening.
shailew
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:20

Re: !! not find the root block device in .

Postby shailew » Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:12

Thanks @dave_64. I will try out what Wolfden has suggested.
shailew
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:20

Next

Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest