!! not find the root block device in .

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Re: !! not find the root block device in .

Postby linuxfluesterer » Tue Jan 15, 2013 16:10

Hallo...
Maybe this thread will help you. Finally, I had to reinstall Grub2 with Rigo and then reinstall Grub2 on my system.
Grub2 is newly installed after Kernel-Update.

https://forum.sabayon.org/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=28195&p=155310&hilit=block+device#p155310

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
Take away Facebook from me and let there be real people again...
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: !! not find the root block device in .

Postby Johnny Who » Thu Jan 17, 2013 16:40

Well, it happened to me yesterday! I was terrified because it was a brand new installation, but figured out the solution. You just chroot in and issue:
Code: Select all
equo cleanup

I suspect that the filesystem gets fragmented due to the untaring of too many files. As I have choosed to test btrfs, I am even more prone to that. However, after doing that, I booted normally? Which filesystem do you use?
Johnny Who
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:51

Re: !! not find the root block device in .

Postby linuxfluesterer » Thu Jan 17, 2013 19:20

I have an ssd and I was thinking about to choose btrfs. But I've heared too much of problems and I think, btrfs isn't really stable. So, I choosed xfs. Until now, I am content. The speed is fast and you can activate journaling.
Before, when I used mechanical hdds, I preferred jfs. I always could repair my hdd, when fsck problems :D .
But I've read jfs misses something important necessary for ssd (I forgot what it was, sorry).
I would recommend jfs for mechanical hdd.

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
Take away Facebook from me and let there be real people again...
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: !! not find the root block device in .

Postby Johnny Who » Thu Jan 17, 2013 22:28

However, although it may be a result of my REALLY simple partitioning scheme, btrfs gives me a feel of a "well balanced" filesystem. Its speed is not that awesome (yet), but it feels solid (by that I do not mean stable) and more promising than ext4...8-)
Johnny Who
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:51

Re: !! not find the root block device in .

Postby shailew » Sat Jan 19, 2013 15:50

@Wolfden. I tried out several things.
I reinstalled kernels 3.7-r3 using kernel-switcher after chroot but it did not work, then I re-installed Sabayon KDE 10 upgraded system and as in previous attempt Virtualbox had installed kernel 3.7-r3, I installed directly without VirtualBox with kernel-switcher, again same problem and now kernel 3.5-r7 is also giving same error therefore I have again installed Sabayon KDE 10. This error has something to do with Kernel 3.7-r7, I will not install it now. Secondly earlier Volumes were created through installation process but now I created partitions on my own to avoid complications while chroot. Please let me know what could be error.
shailew
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:20

Re: !! not find the root block device in .

Postby wolfden » Tue Jan 22, 2013 9:15

no idea, do the grub lines look correct and pointing to the correct locations?
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: !! not find the root block device in .

Postby sihox » Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:46

You can try setting real_root in grub config.
For example, if you have root filesystem on /dev/sda1:

1. In /etc/default/grub:
Code: Select all
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="real_root=/dev/sda1"


2. rebuild grub config
Code: Select all
grub2-mkconfig > /boot/grub/grub.cfg
sihox
Young Hen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 23:22
Location: Poland

Re: !! not find the root block device in .

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Tue Jan 22, 2013 19:42

sihox wrote:2. rebuild grub config
Code: Select all
grub2-mkconfig > /boot/grub/grub.cfg

That should be:

Code: Select all
grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 8077
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Previous

Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron