Can't install sabayon 8 [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Can't install sabayon 8 [Solved]

Postby JackHamm3r » Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:55

Hi there, I've been a fan of Sabayon OS from the beginning, the last I downloaded was Sabayon 8 amd64k version. I've been using this for quite some time, & it worked flawless. But recently I bought a new laptop (HP Pavillion G6 1313AX), & when I tried to install Sabayon in that, it just won't start the live boot session. I've tried to start the graphical installation, but it returned the same result. All the time after booting up, the screen shows a terminal kinda thing with no command prompt, or any other UI. All it has is a blinking cursor, but can't type there. I also tried the 'nomodeset' option, but that didn't worked either. I've checked the disc, it's just fine. Is it something that I missed?

It's Urgent, all my works are stalled because of this. Please Help!
Please find my hardware specification here

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/docu ... ct=5220738
Last edited by JackHamm3r on Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:24, edited 1 time in total.
JackHamm3r
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:40

Re: Can't install sabayon 8

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:58

SL 8 is old software. Why don't you try installing the latest release, SL 10?
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Can't install sabayon 8

Postby JackHamm3r » Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:13

It's being downloaded. For now I need this.
JackHamm3r
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:40

Re: Can't install sabayon 8

Postby dave_64 » Fri Jan 04, 2013 21:32

If you get a blinking cursor, you can use alt + f2 key combo and get a login prompt, but I'm not sure if you are even into the sabayon disc. Almost sounds like you are at the level of the bios. Sabayon 8 is old. Even Sabayon 10 is near it's expire date.
dave_64
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 20:33

Re: Can't install sabayon 8

Postby Johnny Who » Mon Jan 07, 2013 20:13

Really, when sabayon 11 is coming out???
Johnny Who
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:51

Re: Can't install sabayon 8

Postby dave_64 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:09

I'm not sure. It's been about 4 months since 10 was released, and, I think the developers aim for a twice per year release. If I'm right, that makes it a couple of months to the next release. I installed 10 in September. It seems like every week there are a lot of package upgrades...often on weekends. It seems like a lot, probably because I only have a megabit connection. Sorry if I mislead you.
dave_64
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 20:33

Re: Can't install sabayon 8

Postby cl00t » Tue Jan 08, 2013 21:06

Normally releases are every 3 - 4 months, see the press releases forum. However, if I were installing from fresh now I would use one of the daily ISO's (which are updated weekly :mrgreen: ), it would be much quicker.
cl00t
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 15:29

Re: Can't install sabayon 8

Postby notzippy » Tue Jan 15, 2013 17:54

dave_64 wrote:I'm not sure. It's been about 4 months since 10 was released, and, I think the developers aim for a twice per year release. If I'm right, that makes it a couple of months to the next release. I installed 10 in September. It seems like every week there are a lot of package upgrades...often on weekends. It seems like a lot, probably because I only have a megabit connection. Sorry if I mislead you.


Thats the great thing about sabayon, there is a lot of incremental increases so you never need to add on a different software repository to get the latest software. Eventually one of those batch of updates will mark the begining of a new version of sabayon, that is how simple the update is - nothing at all like other distros.

Nz
notzippy
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 14:34

Re: Can't install sabayon 8

Postby JackHamm3r » Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:15

Okay guys Sabayon 10 solved the problem, but still needs the nomodeset option. Anyway, thanks! :)
JackHamm3r
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:40


Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron