Make Sabayon a Software Workstation

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
ksmallik
Baby Hen
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 17:29

Make Sabayon a Software Workstation

Post by ksmallik » Sun Nov 18, 2012 15:15

Hi! I a primarily looking for a standard base for C/C++ IDE and have settled on Eclipse. I come from a Fedora and Ubuntu background. Fedora came with a plethora of Development tools. gcc tool chain, and other development libraries. My question is:
Does equo have a keyword to automatically install developer libraries and tools. In ubuntu, all I have to do is "sudo apt-get install build-essentials".
I must admit that I am new to the package management of Sabayon. I am currently using only equo.

Asimov
Young Hen
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 20:27

Re: Make Sabayon a Software Workstation

Post by Asimov » Mon Nov 19, 2012 0:17

You're lucky, Eclipse is usually hard to install on linux. I did'nt even tried.

You should used Rigo or Sulfur to do some "shopping" in the repo.

sqlpython
Technological Hen
Posts: 386
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:01
Location: If It Moves Compile It
Contact:

Re: Make Sabayon a Software Workstation

Post by sqlpython » Sun Dec 23, 2012 22:04

I use Eclipse regularly on Debian, Slackware and Arch.. I have always found it easy to install..
Practically Automatic.
Criticism accepted for Solutions that work. ;^)
Sabayon 13-DEBIAN 8- #! -Sid-Slackware 14-Calculate 13-Bridge

lupinehorror
Baby Hen
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 11:13
Location: alba
Contact:

Re: Make Sabayon a Software Workstation

Post by lupinehorror » Sat Dec 29, 2012 13:40

wouldn't

Code: Select all

equo install eclipse-ecj

take care of it?
sabayon on my desktop - debian on my servers

Post Reply