sudo equo update [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
amandus
Simple Hen
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 15:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

sudo equo update [Solved]

Post by amandus » Mon Oct 01, 2012 16:31

When I do:
sudo equo update

I got this:̈́'

invalid filesystem encoding ISO-8859-1, must be UTF-8.
Make sure to set LC_ALL, LANG, LANGUAGE to valid UTF-8 values.
Please execute:
LC_ALL=en_US.UTF-8 /usr/bin/equo update
Cannot automatically recover from this.
Last edited by amandus on Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:55, edited 1 time in total.

Ramiliez
Simple Hen
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 19:51

Re: sudo equo update

Post by Ramiliez » Mon Oct 01, 2012 21:59

I think i read in wiki that you shoulnd use sudo you should use just su however i might be wrong
Sabayon 9 x64 KDE

akelling
Baby Hen
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 3:34

Re: sudo equo update

Post by akelling » Tue Oct 02, 2012 3:40

My guess is that you blew away your /etc/env.d/02locale file.

See what your current locale are reporting by entering ' locale ' in the cli.

Entering in ' LC_ALL=en_US.UTF-8 /usr/bin/equo update ' in the cli should get you updated till you figure this out.

More information about this file can be found here http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/utf-8.xml

Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8218
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: sudo equo update

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:50

1. Follow the SL Wiki and use su not sudo when you use Equo.
2. To fix your locale issue, see the post Re: en_GB language missing after install. Obviously replace the "en", "GB", "gb" and "uk" with the appropriate values for the locale you want to use.

amandus
Simple Hen
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 15:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: sudo equo update

Post by amandus » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:54

I have already fixed it the the locale are just fine now Thank you:)

I should put solved in to it.

Post Reply