Page 1 of 1

FireFox - Java plugin [Solved]

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 9:37
by RustyPea
Hello

I am trying to play mine craft from the firefox browser but after it loads the jar files the screen just goes white and nothing else happens. I have done some research and it seems I need to remove icedtea and use the official orical java. I have removed icedtea successfully and installed "sun jre bin 1.6.0.31" from rigo. The problem is firefox dosent seem to be picking this up as a plugin, what am i doing wrong?

Thanks for any advise!

Re: FireFox - Java plugin

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 13:53
by Fitzcarraldo
See Gentoo Java Guide.

1. Use the command eselect java-nsplugin list to see what Java plugins are available. For example:

Code: Select all
# eselect java-nsplugin list
Available 32-bit Java browser plugins
  [1]   emul-linux-x86-java-1.5
  [2]   emul-linux-x86-java-1.6
Available 64-bit Java browser plugins
  [1]   icedtea-bin
  [2]   sun-jre-bin-1.6

2. Use the command eselect java-nsplugin set to set the plugin. For example:

Code: Select all
# eselect java-nsplugin set 64bit sun-jre-bin-1.6
# eselect java-nsplugin set 32bit emul-linux-x86-java-1.6

3. Check it is set:

Code: Select all
# eselect java-nsplugin list
Available 32-bit Java browser plugins
  [1]   emul-linux-x86-java-1.5
  [2]   emul-linux-x86-java-1.6  current
Available 64-bit Java browser plugins
  [1]   icedtea-bin
  [2]   sun-jre-bin-1.6  current

Re: FireFox - Java plugin

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 19:39
by RustyPea
Thanks for your advice, I ran eselect java-nsplugin list which brings up this

Code: Select all
Available Java browser plugins
  [1]   icedtea-bin-6
  [2]   sun-jre-bin-1.6  current


Which suggests its already selected, but in firefox about:plugins it dosent show any java plugins. Interestingly icedtea is still shoiwing as available although I have uninstalled it.

Re: FireFox - Java plugin

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 0:29
by Fitzcarraldo
Do you have your Java Virtual Machine set? For example:

Code: Select all
# eselect java-vm list
# eselect java-vm set system sun-jdk-1.6

BTW, have you also updated all the configuration files after installing packages or upgrading?:

Code: Select all
equo conf update

Re: FireFox - Java plugin

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 4:56
by tollgate
RustyPea - I had much the same problem today. Following the above instructions fixed it for me, but initially Firefox had disabled the Java plugin due to a security issue so you may have to re-enable it.

So now I wonder if this security issue should be a concern for Sabayon 9 users?

Re: FireFox - Java plugin

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 13:52
by RustyPea
Thanks guys! I have it up and running now!

The correct VM wasnt selected so I selected it but it still didnt work. Turns out my java had also been disabled! does any one know why it does that?

Thanks so much for your help guys! much appreciated

Re: FireFox - Java plugin

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 21:33
by dunsurfin
tollgate wrote:RustyPea - I had much the same problem today. Following the above instructions fixed it for me, but initially Firefox had disabled the Java plugin due to a security issue so you may have to re-enable it.

So now I wonder if this security issue should be a concern for Sabayon 9 users?


Is this the issue?

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2012/08/27 ... k_exploit/

Apparently there is some worry that it could be used to infect Linux and Mac machines.