Virtualbox audio, no audio found [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Virtualbox audio, no audio found [Solved]

Postby notzippy » Thu Jun 21, 2012 16:21

Hi

I have almost gotten my machine rebuilt, but I am still having an issue with virtualbox. I have assigned my VMS to use alsa, but when I boot up a VM, virtualbox reports an error. I found the error and solution posted in the gentoo community - http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-91 ... art-0.html , which suggests that libsdl 1.2.15 ebuild be modified to remove the --disable-alsa-shared configure option, and re-emerged. To be honest I don't know where to start on this. Any help would be appreciated...

Thx
Nz
Last edited by notzippy on Fri Jun 22, 2012 16:26, edited 1 time in total.
notzippy
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 14:34

Re: Virtualbox audio, no audio found

Postby notzippy » Thu Jun 21, 2012 21:54

After a host machine reboot virtual box would not start a VM, the error indicated that the kernel was not compilied. Running on the command line the actual error was displayed

Code: Select all
WARNING: The VirtualBox kernel modules are not loaded.
         Please load all the needed kernel modules by:

           for m in vbox{drv,netadp,netflt}; do modprobe $m; done

         You will not be able to start VMs until this problem is fixed.

Running "for m in vbox{drv,netadp,netflt}; do modprobe $m; done" as su allowed virtualbox to launch. Is there a better way for modprobe to be run ?
notzippy
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 14:34

Re: Virtualbox audio, no audio found

Postby Stupot » Thu Jun 21, 2012 21:59

The wiki can do a better job of explaining it than I can: https://wiki.sabayon.org/index.php?titl ... Virtualbox
Stupot
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1511
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: Virtualbox audio, no audio found

Postby notzippy » Thu Jun 21, 2012 22:13

Thanks I had read that page a bunch of times, dont know how I missed adding that to /etc/conf.d/modules D'OH

Any thoughts on my audio issues ?
notzippy
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 14:34

Re: Virtualbox audio, no audio found

Postby notzippy » Fri Jun 22, 2012 16:26

Changed to pulse audio seems to fix that
notzippy
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 14:34


Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest