Problems adding overlays [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Problems adding overlays [Solved]

Postby elliptical_clocks » Sat May 26, 2012 13:38

I cannot add the lcd-filtering overlay when using 'layman -a lcd-filtering'. When I run 'layman -L', a long list of overlays is printed and most of them contain a red * next to them. Only two of them contain a green *, and a few of them have a yellow *. I am new to Portage/Gentoo and am wondering if there is anything I need to do before adding overlays, or if there is just a bug? I also tried re-emerging layman, but still have problem.
Every time I compile Gentoo I feel like I should sacrifice a goat.

<3 Gentoo, Sabayon, & Arch Linux
elliptical_clocks
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 5:54
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Problems adding overlays

Postby Jomiel » Sat May 26, 2012 15:51

Hi there,
to be able to adding a overlay you need to be able to download from the adress given by layman -L. "lcd-filtering" uses git.
Download git and adding lcd-filtering should work just fine.
The colour of the "*" indicates the stability of the overlay. Green is stable and red is not. But I never experienced any problems so far^^.

cheers
Jomiel
Jomiel
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 21:14

Re: Problems adding overlays

Postby elliptical_clocks » Mon May 28, 2012 12:25

Thank you Jomiel!
Every time I compile Gentoo I feel like I should sacrifice a goat.

<3 Gentoo, Sabayon, & Arch Linux
elliptical_clocks
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 5:54
Location: Chicago, IL, USA


Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest