Samba issues [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 575
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Samba issues [Solved]

Post by msdobrescu » Fri Aug 26, 2011 8:09

Hello,

I have a Mandriva based NAS-like system.
I have another machine with Windows and Sabayon.
Sabayon is my primary OS now.
I can access Mandriva machine's samba shares anytime.
I have tried same on Sabayon.
I have set the hostname and domain.
By default I had hostname as 'localhost'/'localhost6' and domain name 'localdomain'/'localdomain6' for tcp/ip 4/6.
I've set them and they appear as my new names, except for the ip v6.
The ping works between the machines.

I have tried to acces samba shares with smb4k. It did not see any. If I map explicitly, in smb4k, as smb://mandrivanas/some-samba-share, it find it, asks for the password.
First time it mounted everything correctly.
After the next reboot it asks for the user and password to connect, it never succeeds.
Back to Windows machine, it connects successfully.

BTW, I have tried to check some services and configs. I have no chkconfig available, no service <name> start/stop/restart etc. available on my Sabayon machine. The systemsettings services at startup applet seems to not show all the services to start or configured to start (for instance samba daemons). WHat is wrong with these tools?

What should I do to check what's wrong?
How should I setup samba mounting and how should I set smb4k to find other shares?

Thanks,
Mike
Last edited by msdobrescu on Sat Sep 10, 2011 18:36, edited 1 time in total.

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 575
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: Samba issues

Post by msdobrescu » Sat Aug 27, 2011 9:55

Well, it seems that it's a right issue, but still no success in finding the precise reason.
It can't browse because it does not have access.
The user:group, after mounting, looks like ???:???.
It requests the user/password, at mounting time in kde4k, I give them, it seems not to accept them, then smb4k crashes.

Any hints?
Or, at least, how should I do it properly?
I can use the shares from Windows with no issues.

Thanks.

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Samba issues

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Sat Aug 27, 2011 10:40

Don't know if it will be of any use to you, but I used the following 'How To': http://opensuse.swerdna.org/susesimpleshares.html

He tells you how to configure both GNOME and KDE, with lots of pictures to make it easier to understand. Swerdna is an openSUSE user, but the steps are basically the same as for SL.

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 575
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: Samba issues

Post by msdobrescu » Sat Aug 27, 2011 20:27

Thank you.

I have successfully configured samba shares, as long as I can access them without troubles from Windows.
I can't connect from the Sabayon machine. I have no clue why.

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Samba issues

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Sat Aug 27, 2011 20:44

By any chance are you using the UFW firewall that comes as standard with SL since SL 6? That would be one reason. See my post How to config ufw/ufw-frontends for Samba browsing/printing.

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 575
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: Samba issues

Post by msdobrescu » Sat Aug 27, 2011 21:41

It seems it is installed.
How would I know it is in action?
In system settings it is a firewall active.
I disable it and samba finds the current machine, but still doesn't see the other, which I could access it through Windows.

I have successfully mounted shares now, with the firewall active.
It works kind of randomly.

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 575
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: Samba issues

Post by msdobrescu » Sun Aug 28, 2011 10:45

Using samba and smb4k further....
I have several samba shares. smb4k mounts them on a regular basis after I've installed KWallet.
I try mount some. KWallet asks for its password, and provides the password. After a while seems that KWallet closes its session. Then I try to connect to others. smb4k enters in a loop asking for the samba shares user/password.
If I cancel this, close smb4k, open it again, it asks again for KWallet password and mounts successfully.
I feel that smb4k needs KWallet to work. Without it somehow it doesnt pass the user/password to mount the shares or make them accessible.

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 575
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: Samba issues

Post by msdobrescu » Tue Sep 06, 2011 22:06

I had to create new user and to remove my current one.
Such fiasco!
Imagine that: there are 4 shares having exactly the same credentials.
In Sabayon I could mount one of them, never other three.
I have a Windows in VirtualBox under same sytem - i.e. Sabayon.
From that Windows, ALL the shares are perfectly accessible.
WHY? :shock:

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 575
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: Samba issues

Post by msdobrescu » Wed Sep 07, 2011 18:18

I've reset samba installation doing a purge through Entropy.
I've delete KWallet entries regarding smb4k.
Now it mounts everything.
I wish I knew what configuration changed...

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Samba issues

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Thu Sep 08, 2011 9:51

If your problem is solved then please edit the Subject of your first post and append " [Solved]" to it.

Post Reply