sabayon boot error !!Could not mount specified ROOT

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
PietroTux88
Growing Hen
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:27

sabayon boot error !!Could not mount specified ROOT

Post by PietroTux88 » Fri Jul 15, 2011 11:05

!!Could not mount specified ROOT, try again
!!could not find the root block device in .
Please specify another value or: press enter for the same, type "shell" for a shell, or "q" to skyp...
root block device() ::

PietroTux88
Growing Hen
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:27

Re: sabayon boot error !!Could not mount specified ROOT

Post by PietroTux88 » Fri Jul 15, 2011 11:06

i push the q but not start sabayon, i must reinstall the new sabayon why ?

genfool
Technological Hen
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 17:56
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: sabayon boot error !!Could not mount specified ROOT

Post by genfool » Fri Jul 15, 2011 16:01

Please specify another value or: press enter for the same, type "shell" for a shell, or "q" to skyp...
root block device() ::
This is saying that it can not find the root file system, is a grub issue.
If I saw this error on my system, I know that I have a dual boot and put sabayon on sda5. I would enter /dev/sda5
This will tell it where to look and sabayon would boot.
You would need to adjust the path to fit your partitions.

Then once you get it booted, we could work on the real error grub. If you already re-installed, no sense in covering it now.

PietroTux88
Growing Hen
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:27

Re: sabayon boot error !!Could not mount specified ROOT

Post by PietroTux88 » Mon Jul 18, 2011 21:46

to day i have reinstall sabayon 6 and when i have off my laptop i have this error always when i boot sabayon i push the botton q to continue but nothing.Sabayon don't start

PietroTux88
Growing Hen
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:27

Re: sabayon boot error !!Could not mount specified ROOT

Post by PietroTux88 » Sat Jul 23, 2011 21:58

to day i have reinstallation sabayon daily and i have this error when i have leave my harddisk external with btrfs how can fix the boot error please i can't boot the sabayon system.help me someone to fix

PietroTux88
Growing Hen
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:27

Re: sabayon boot error !!Could not mount specified ROOT

Post by PietroTux88 » Sat Aug 27, 2011 12:01

!!Could not mount specified ROOT, try again
!!could not find the root block device in .
Please specify another value or: press enter for the same, type "shell" for a shell, or "q" to skyp...
root block device() ::

who help me to fix this problem, i use external harddisk USB 1 TB.

PietroTux88
Growing Hen
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:27

sabayon boot error !!!!

Post by PietroTux88 » Sun Aug 28, 2011 23:56

please help me please

Crypto_ahash
Young Hen
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 13:06

Re: sabayon boot error !!Could not mount specified ROOT

Post by Crypto_ahash » Mon Aug 29, 2011 8:26

On what disk and what partition did you install Sabayon?

Please post your disk layout.
Image

PietroTux88
Growing Hen
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:27

Re: sabayon boot error !!Could not mount specified ROOT

Post by PietroTux88 » Mon Aug 29, 2011 14:23

when i try to leave USB external HARDDISK 1 TB sabayon boot error and i must reinstall new installation always of sabayon 6

Post Reply