Virtualbox

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :)

Moderator: Moderators

CMota1976
Baby Hen
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:19

Virtualbox

Post by CMota1976 » Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:26

HEy everyone, I'm trying out Sabayon as I'm coming over from Ubuntu. My question is this. How come some programs that I download with Sulfur do not show up on my programs list and menus. For example, I see the Virtualbox is installed through the Package Manager, however, I cannot find it anywhere on my list. I checked Accessories, System Tools, Preferences, and Admistration, as well as the other menus.

Where can I find the run file for VB and how can I add the icon to my program list and/or the desktop?

byto
Simple Hen
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 15:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: Virtualbox

Post by byto » Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:14

Unfortunately it is some bug. You have to add launcher into menu manualy. And probably it will not work yet, so you have to your user acount add to vboxusers group and than reinstall vbox. I did it in this way and it is ok.
Image

byto
Simple Hen
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 15:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: Virtualbox

Post by byto » Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:18

and command to launch vbox is

Code: Select all

VirtualBox
Image

kutte128
Simple Hen
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 13:19

Re: Virtualbox

Post by kutte128 » Tue Dec 21, 2010 11:04

Hi,

it's in "Sytem tools" and it's called "Oracle xVM Virtualbox" - at least for me

You can also make your own starter and boot directly in you VBox:

create a .desktop-file in ~/.local/share/applications like this:

Code: Select all

nano ~/local/share/applications/Windows_XP.desktop

Code: Select all

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Windows XP
Comment=Windows XP
Type=Application
Exec=VBoxSDL --startvm "WindowsXP" --fullscreenresize
Icon=/home/YOURNAME/.icons/xp.png
Categories=System;
"startvm" is the name you gave your VBox,"Categories" is for the Menu.
http://standards.freedesktop.org/menu-s ... t/apa.html

This way you can start your VBox without the VBox GUI

sincerely,
kutte128

carra
Baby Hen
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 10:44
Location: I-29012

Re: Virtualbox

Post by carra » Tue Dec 21, 2010 17:34

CMota1976 wrote:HEy everyone, I'm trying out Sabayon as I'm coming over from Ubuntu. My question is this. How come some programs that I download with Sulfur do not show up on my programs list and menus. For example, I see the Virtualbox is installed through the Package Manager, however, I cannot find it anywhere on my list. I checked Accessories, System Tools, Preferences, and Admistration, as well as the other menus.

Where can I find the run file for VB and how can I add the icon to my program list and/or the desktop?
Same here. :(
Very annoying. :x
Phenom II X2 555 BE felicemente sbloccato a [email protected] | Asrock 890GM Pro3 | Corsair CX series 430W | Corsair A50 | Kingston 2x2GB HyperX+G.Skill ECO 2x2GB (courtesy of Jospeh) | SSD 64GB Kingston Now V100 | WD 1,5TB | WD 1TB SATA6 64MB Black

Raghav_K
Simple Hen
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:00
Location: Chennai, India
Contact:

Re: Virtualbox

Post by Raghav_K » Sun Dec 26, 2010 12:20

same here :cry:
aaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh open source goodnessssss!!!!!!!!!!

rafalz
Baby Hen
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 21:02

Re: Virtualbox

Post by rafalz » Fri Jan 14, 2011 15:50

hi
problem doesn't exist when you upgrade kernel to 2.6.36 - icons will be show in apps menus and VB will be start normally without any problems.

however you can also start VB when you use 2.6.35 but you must do it from terminal - as a root, but only into VB catalogue - you should find this in

Code: Select all

"/opt/VirtualBox/"
to start try

Code: Select all

VirtualBox
or

Code: Select all

./VirtualBox

marceloramone
Simple Hen
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:54
Location: Maldonado, Uruguay

Re: Virtualbox

Post by marceloramone » Tue Feb 01, 2011 23:18

Hello,

I installed VirtualBox sucesfully following the instructions posted in the wiki, but can not launch it from the gnome-menu.

I added the entry manually:

Type: Application
Name: VirtualBox
Command: gksu /opt/VirtualBox

Password dialog is launched but VBox never works.

From the shell, as root works properly.

P.D: uname -r
2.6.37-sabayon

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Virtualbox

Post by wolfden » Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:55

shouldn't need to be root to run VirtualBox

try reinstalling virtualbox from entropy, seems a reinstall fixes it.

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Virtualbox

Post by wolfden » Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:58

actually if you equo update and than equo upgrade, VB should get pulled

Post Reply