codec install... [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :)

Moderator: Moderators

joutlan
Baby Hen
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 5:00
Location: Orlando, Florida
Contact:

codec install... [Solved]

Post by joutlan » Sat Nov 20, 2010 5:09

Hi...can someone give the command line verbiage to install the codec necessary to play .m4a files? I'm using 5.4 KDE 4.5.3 x64. I can't remember the codec name either! thanks
Cheers, Big Ears!

DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM w/USB 3.0, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, Intel x-25M 160 G2 + 500GB 7200.3, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, RGBLED, Intel 6300 //Win7Pro x64/Sabayon KDE 4.5.3 x64

DHalens
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 933
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 23:08
Location: Canary Islands, Spain

Re: codec install...

Post by DHalens » Sat Nov 20, 2010 15:20

Afaik, no need to install anything. Any player should be able to play it as is.
Former Sabayon staff (retired).
For any personal questions or whatever, contact me trough my G+ profile

joutlan
Baby Hen
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 5:00
Location: Orlando, Florida
Contact:

Re: codec install...

Post by joutlan » Sat Nov 20, 2010 22:17

Code: Select all

Your GStreamer installation is missing a plug-in.

GStreamer encountered a general stream error.

This file contains no playable streams.
thanks for replying....I get this when trying to play any .m4a music file. Any thoughts?
Cheers, Big Ears!

DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM w/USB 3.0, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, Intel x-25M 160 G2 + 500GB 7200.3, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, RGBLED, Intel 6300 //Win7Pro x64/Sabayon KDE 4.5.3 x64

micia
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41
Contact:

Re: codec install...

Post by micia » Sat Nov 20, 2010 22:20

Have you tried with another media player application? Like VLC, for example, or mplayer, I found them to be more complete when it comes to unusual formats.
This thread provides some hints about gstreamer and media players, even if it is not its topic:
http://forum.sabayon.org/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=22117

joutlan
Baby Hen
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 5:00
Location: Orlando, Florida
Contact:

Re: codec install...

Post by joutlan » Sat Nov 20, 2010 22:30

I just did...the m4a will play with VLC but not Clementine. That doesn't help me much re VLC....am I right to think that if Clementine won't play it, Exaile won't either? One way to find out......thanks for help guys....I'm liking this distro and this and Virtualbox are my last to-do's..... :P

EDIT: Exaile gives me this when trying to play and .m4a:

Code: Select all

GStreamer encountered a general stream error.
Cheers, Big Ears!

DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM w/USB 3.0, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, Intel x-25M 160 G2 + 500GB 7200.3, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, RGBLED, Intel 6300 //Win7Pro x64/Sabayon KDE 4.5.3 x64

micia
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41
Contact:

Re: codec install...

Post by micia » Sat Nov 20, 2010 22:35

I use exaile, but I have not any m4a file to test it...
The only thing that comes in my mind is to try to install:

Code: Select all

equo install gst-plugins-ffmpeg
since VLC is based on ffmpeg.

joutlan
Baby Hen
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 5:00
Location: Orlando, Florida
Contact:

Re: codec install...

Post by joutlan » Sat Nov 20, 2010 22:46

thanks...I'm installing all the gst-plugins to see if that will fix it......

I know someone is playing m4a's with their music manager....where is the command line to all of the plugins and codecs know to mankind? lol...I'm new to Sabayon.....thanks guys !!
Cheers, Big Ears!

DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM w/USB 3.0, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, Intel x-25M 160 G2 + 500GB 7200.3, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, RGBLED, Intel 6300 //Win7Pro x64/Sabayon KDE 4.5.3 x64

joutlan
Baby Hen
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 5:00
Location: Orlando, Florida
Contact:

Re: codec install...[Solved]

Post by joutlan » Sat Nov 20, 2010 23:16

Exaile is now playing m4a files. I installed ALL of the following plugins to make it work, but not sure which one it was:

Code: Select all

media-libs/gst-plugins-bad-0.10.19 
media-libs/gst-plugins-base-0.10.29 
media-libs/gst-plugins-good-0.10.23 
media-libs/gst-plugins-ugly-0.10.13 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-a52dec-0.10.13 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-alsa-0.10.29 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-dvb-0.10.19 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-dvdread-0.10.13 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-esd-0.10.23 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-faac-0.10.19 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-faad-0.10.19 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-ffmpeg-0.10.9 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-flac-0.10.23 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-gconf-0.10.23 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-gio-0.10.29 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-lame-0.10.13 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-mad-0.10.13 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-meta-0.10-r4 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-mpeg2dec-0.10.13 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-ogg-0.10.29 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-pango-0.10.29 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-pulse-0.10.23 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-resindvd-0.10.19 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-soup-0.10.23 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-taglib-0.10.23 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-theora-0.10.29 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-twolame-0.10.13 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-v4l-0.10.29 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-v4l2-0.10.23 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-vorbis-0.10.29 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-x-0.10.29 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-x264-0.10.13 
media-plugins/gst-plugins-xvideo-0.10.29 
Does anyone have the wildcard command to install all of the above in one fell swoop (my first question)? thanks for posterity / noobs
Cheers, Big Ears!

DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM w/USB 3.0, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, Intel x-25M 160 G2 + 500GB 7200.3, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, RGBLED, Intel 6300 //Win7Pro x64/Sabayon KDE 4.5.3 x64

DHalens
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 933
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 23:08
Location: Canary Islands, Spain

Re: codec install...[Solved]

Post by DHalens » Sat Nov 20, 2010 23:27

joutlan wrote:Does anyone have the wildcard command to install all of the above in one fell swoop (my first question)?

Code: Select all

equo install `equo search -q gst-plugins-` -a
Remove the -a to just install without asking you.
Former Sabayon staff (retired).
For any personal questions or whatever, contact me trough my G+ profile

joutlan
Baby Hen
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 5:00
Location: Orlando, Florida
Contact:

Re: codec install... [Solved]

Post by joutlan » Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:49

thank you DHalens! Sabayon is playing nice with my Precision m6500 laptop....unlike Ubuntu/Mint/etc which sound wouldn't work properly (low volume) after many fixes....so anywhere, here i am.....haven't used Sabayon since 3.5 so it's good to be back! :bom:
Cheers, Big Ears!

DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM w/USB 3.0, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, Intel x-25M 160 G2 + 500GB 7200.3, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, RGBLED, Intel 6300 //Win7Pro x64/Sabayon KDE 4.5.3 x64

Post Reply