Just installed sabayon Gnome ... Now what? [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Just installed sabayon Gnome ... Now what? [Solved]

Postby iceman600 » Fri Jul 30, 2010 21:14

i just installed sabayon gnome ... amazing is all i can say. its faster and more smoother than ubuntu (for me tho) But im new to the environment. ive been reading the wiki a lot and im having problems installing programs i used to have on my ubuntu system...

problems i like to clarify are:
- how to add repositories?
in ubuntu all i do is sofware packages and add the ppa on tha add additional software... but here i can figure it out.

- how to auto mount my ntfs partition?
in ubuntu i just go to synaptics package manager and add the ntfs-config and there i can automount my ntfs partition.
i need this bacause i duak boot and mostly of my media files are on separate htfs farmat partition so im on my windows machine i can browse them too.

- and i try installing miro using equo and nothing happens... heres a screenshoot.
iceman600
Simple Hen

Re: Just installed sabayon Gnome ... NOW WHAT?

Postby Stupot » Fri Jul 30, 2010 21:40

To install an application, you'll need to run that same command as the root user.

So, in a terminal:
Code: Select all
$su
<root password>
#equo install miro --ask

As for the repositories, there aren't many repositories in Sabayon like there are in Ubuntu. There are a few, but depending on what you're looking for, the main repo might have everything you want.

However, I'll go ahead and point out one repo I know of (which includes instructions as to how you should enable it) viewtopic.php?f=76&t=20513

As for the ntfs issue, I'm not sure, but I know that this can be done in fstab.
http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/NTFS-3G
(Look at mount at boot, it should all be installed for you already)
Stupot
Sagely Hen