NTFS mount in Sabayon 5.1 KDE

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
akshay.sulakhe
Simple Hen
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 22:04
Location: India
Contact:

NTFS mount in Sabayon 5.1 KDE

Post by akshay.sulakhe » Tue May 18, 2010 8:21

Hello friends,
I installed sabayon linux 5.1 kde on my friends comp..everything is working fine except,it does not mount NTFS drives. When i click on the drive it says,cannot enter the folder. What should i do. Plz reply. Thanks. :mrgreen:

thecata
Simple Hen
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 11:40
Location: Romania, Cluj

Re: NTFS mount in Sabayon 5.1 KDE

Post by thecata » Tue May 18, 2010 9:41

If you know the partition numbers (those like /dev/sda3) of the partitions which are ntfs, then you can edit the /etc/fstab file (as root of course), to contain something similar to:

Code: Select all

/dev/sda3       /mnt/WinXP      ntfs-3g      quiet,defaults,locale=en_US.utf8,umask=0	0 0
More info here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fstab (this is where I copied the line above) and here: http://forum.sabayon.org/viewtopic.php?f=86&t=17959 (forum post with ntfs rw problem - might also help).

Of course, the folder /mnt/WinXP in the example above (or whatever folder you want to specify here) must exist on your hard drive, and your user should have read-write access. You could do something like this: (as root, since that is the only user that can create a folder in /mnt):

Code: Select all

mkdir /mnt/WinXP
chmod 777 -R /mnt/WinXP
chown -R <your_username> /mnt/WinXP
Catalin Pol
Location: Romania
Linux user since 2004; Sabayon user since 2006

Post Reply