5.2 x64 - grub issues

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
rashan
Baby Hen
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 16:29
Contact:

5.2 x64 - grub issues

Post by rashan » Fri May 07, 2010 21:34

I seem to be having a problem similar to this guy, but I am having problems with the solution.

I have a fresh install of Sabayon 5.2 x64, then did a full update via Sulfur (bringing me up to grub 1.98, I assume). When I reboot, I get the "splash daemon error 256" and the boot splash is missing.

I have two drives, sda and sdb - grub is installed on sda/ - I also have a WindowsXP install on sda, and Sabayon is on sdb/ - the installer partitioned things and created a /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 as well, and I'm not sure where that fits into the picture...

I edit grub.cfg as described in the thread posted above, and then run 'grub2-install /dev/sda', then 'grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg'

When I reboot, I see the splash screen, but I only have the entry for WindowsXP...

I'm not sure how to fix this, so I just reinstall Sabayon from the disk - I've tried to fix this a couple times now, with the same result...

Any ideas what I'm missing?

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: 5.2 x64 - grub issues

Post by wolfden » Fri May 07, 2010 23:50

try adding the Sabayon entry?

rashan
Baby Hen
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 16:29
Contact:

Re: 5.2 x64 - grub issues

Post by rashan » Sat May 08, 2010 0:17

I'm not entirely certain how to do that... ;) I'll see what I can google.

It's strange that the 5.2 installer handles Grub just fine, but the first update I do kills grub. :?

Sisko43
Growing Hen
Posts: 195
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 12:59

Re: 5.2 x64 - grub issues

Post by Sisko43 » Sat May 08, 2010 12:19

Are you using a "/boot"-partition for sabayon? If so make sure when you are logged in to sabayon and doing your grub2-commands, the boot-partition is mounted otherwise errors occur.

Post Reply