GUI

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

GUI

Postby vampyrex33 » Wed Apr 21, 2010 23:09

hey i have a question. I know that the gnome interface is a very customizable interface so i was wondering if it is possible to install packages that allow you to turn the desktop into the cube featured for the kde version or if it is strictly limited to kde only. I really liked the transparency of the windows as well as the cube so i guess the question is: how, if it is possible, can i configure the gnome interface to do that?
vampyrex33
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 22:46

Re: GUI

Postby wolfden » Wed Apr 21, 2010 23:17

gnome comes with compiz fusion, which is the 3D desktop window manager, have you tried that?
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: GUI

Postby vampyrex33 » Wed Apr 21, 2010 23:22

lol well i just enabled it and now it does do some of the features that kde does, i cant even pull up firefox or disable compiz so it basically locked up
vampyrex33
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 22:46

Re: GUI

Postby vampyrex33 » Wed Apr 21, 2010 23:24

lemme restart real quick and see if anything changes
vampyrex33
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 22:46

Re: GUI

Postby vampyrex33 » Wed Apr 21, 2010 23:27

it actually also whites out terminal and windows so that you cant see anything so thats why it isnt showing firefox
vampyrex33
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 22:46

Re: GUI

Postby donnie » Thu Apr 22, 2010 0:08

That's because of Gnome :twisted:
donnie
 

Re: GUI

Postby vampyrex33 » Thu Apr 22, 2010 0:11

dam. i really dont want to install kde cause it was kinda choppy on my pc last time and i like how the gnome has the panel up top with applications and etc
vampyrex33
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 22:46

Re: GUI

Postby joeoden » Thu Apr 22, 2010 3:07

What Graphic card do you have (Ati, Intel, nVidia or something else)?
If you don't know how to find out in terminal type
Code: Select all
su
Password:
lspci

And paste the output of lspci in your reply
Desktop ASUS M2N-MX SE Plus, AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 5200, 4 Gb RAM, GeForce 9500 1GB
Notebook HP CQ61-311AX, AMD CPU M320, 4 Gb RAM, Radeon HD 4300 512 MB
Wireless AR9285, Audio ATI SBx00 (IDT 92hd75B2x5)
Some mistakes are too much fun to only make once!
joeoden
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:35
Location: Back in the 'swamp land' Moe, Australia 38°10′20″S 146°16′04″E

Re: GUI

Postby wolfden » Thu Apr 22, 2010 4:06

donnie wrote:That's because of Gnome :twisted:


Not hardly and remarks like that don't need to be, especially in this area, as all it does is confuse people
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: GUI

Postby vampyrex33 » Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:11

Its ok wolf. It didnt confuse me. Anyhow heres the hardware info:

Code: Select all
00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 Host Bridge Alternate
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 9602
00:04.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 0)
00:05.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 1)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 2)
00:07.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 3)
00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 3c)
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 LPC host controller
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] HyperTransport Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Link Control
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc M880G [Mobility Radeon HD 4200]
01:05.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc RS880 Audio Device [Radeon HD 4200]
09:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)
0a:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 02



Instead of making you read all of that unless you need to lol, the g card is an ATI Radeon HD 4200. Note/Update i switched back to the kde cause gnome version crashed somehow. whats the keyboard shortcut for the cube or do i still need another package for that? also is it in the theme manager where i can make the windows virtually light on fire when i close them like a couple of videos? Also how do i enable the transparency? Theme manager im guessing?
vampyrex33
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 22:46

Next

Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests