Page 1 of 3

Time of czech zone is not right about 2 hours [Solved]

Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 21:24
by pherynk
After installing my Sabayon 5.2 I have time of my digital clock 20 hours instead of 22 hours and I am not able to correct it. Thank you for advice. The other problem is with my printer HP DeskJet F 380. I am not able to install and set up it. Thank you.

Re: Time of czech zone is not right about 2 hours

Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 23:49
by Fitzcarraldo
Which edition of SL are you using: KDE or GNOME?

I take it you have already tried adjusting the clock's time and your time zone using the system settings GUI (in the case of KDE that would be: Kickoff > Computer > System Settings | Date & Time)? If so, work through the SL Wiki article HOWTO: Clock, Time, UTC, Dual boot with Windows.

I don't have the same model of printer as you, but I believe it is supported by the HPLIP (HP Linux Imaging and Printing System). Do you have the Entropy package hplip installed? If not install it:

Code: Select all

equo install hplip
You can also install, monitor and control printers using the CUPS (Common Unix Printing System) manager, which should be installed by default. To launch the CUPS manager, enter the address http://localhost:631/ in your favourite Web browser address bar.

Re: Time of czech zone is not right about 2 hours

Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 6:56
by pherynk
Thank you for your advice. But my problem is, that I am able to setup properly my time zone, but clock shows time about 2 hours different. Ror the time being clock shows 5.33 Praha instead of 7.33 hours.

Re: Time of czech zone is not right about 2 hours

Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 7:12
by pherynk
About printer. Modul says me, client forbidden. Setup is OK, but I cannot save it.

Re: Time of czech zone is not right about 2 hours

Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 7:17
by pherynk
Generally I think that it is a problem of my user rights.

Re: Time of czech zone is not right about 2 hours

Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:20
by Fitzcarraldo
pherynk wrote:About printer. Modul says me, client forbidden. Setup is OK, but I cannot save it.
Try adding yourself to the lp group.

Re: Time of czech zone is not right about 2 hours

Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:25
by Fitzcarraldo
pherynk wrote:Thank you for your advice. But my problem is, that I am able to setup properly my time zone, but clock shows time about 2 hours different. Ror the time being clock shows 5.33 Praha instead of 7.33 hours.
Strange.

Fitzcarraldo wrote:Which edition of SL are you using: KDE or GNOME?
Which is it :?:

Try launching System Settings using kdesu from a Konsole window:

Code: Select all

$ kdesu systemsettings
and change to a different timezone and then back to Prague. Then post here the contents of your files /etc/conf.d/hwclock and /etc/timezone

Re: Time of czech zone is not right about 2 hours

Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 13:08
by pherynk
It is impossible to change both of them.
etc/timezone

Europe/Prague

etc/conf.d/hwclock
Set CLOCK to "UTC" if your Hardware Clock is set to UTC (also known as
# Greenwich Mean Time). If that clock is set to the local time, then
# set CLOCK to "local". Note that if you dual boot with Windows, then
# you should set it to "local".
clock="local"

# If you want to set the Hardware Clock to the current System Time
# (software clock) during shutdown, then say "YES" here.
# You normally don't need to do this if you run a ntp daemon.
clock_systohc="YES"

# If you wish to pass any other arguments to hwclock during bootup,
# you may do so here. Alpha users may wish to use --arc or --srm here.
clock_args=""

Re: Time of czech zone is not right about 2 hours

Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 13:20
by pherynk
With printer kdesu systemsettings was useful

Re: Time of czech zone is not right about 2 hours

Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 13:29
by pherynk
Thank you very much. I tried this command once more and success. Thank you for your help.