Nautilus Share tab missing

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Nautilus Share tab missing

Postby Nab!!daN » Sun Mar 21, 2010 14:41

Hi all,

I'm new to Sabayon and I've a little issue with my Nautilus, there is no menu to share a folder by right clicking on it .

I'm using Sabayon 5.1, "2.6.31" x64 bits, and Gnome Desktop 2.28.2.

I see my computer and access other windows / linux shares in my local Workgroup, but I found no way to share properly a folder.

I wonder if I'm not missing the package : gnome-user-share [ Masked ] , as it seems to be masked.

Any direction or idea to help me to solve this little issue is welcome.

Thanks in advance.

bye.
Nab!!daN
Baby Hen

Re: Nautilus Share tab missing

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Tue Mar 23, 2010 17:42

Don't use GNOME myself these days, but have a look at the following How To for configuring Nautilus (GNOME) and Dolphin/Konqueror (KDE) for brwosing Samba shares under openSUSE. Not sure if it will help you, but as no GNOME users have responded to your plea, I thought at least I'd reply. I take it you've already edited /etc/samba/smb.conf and put in your home network's workgroup name and you PC's NetBIOS name?

http://opensuse.swerdna.org/susesimpleshares.html
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen

Postby Nab!!daN » Sat Mar 27, 2010 10:09

Hi,

Thanks for your response, I saw this link before and made some configuration, indeed you are right to assume that I have added my Workgroup and NetBios name.

Reading the link you sent me two things let me think I miss something:

they speak about RPM as link concerns openSUSE:

Software RPMs: Check and if necessary install RPMs samba, samba-client and nautilus-share.

Code: Select all
Linux xxx 2.6.31-sabayon #1 SMP Mon Mar 1 19:17:04 UTC 2010 x86_64 Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

equo search nautilus-share
>>  @@ Searching...