Printer question... [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Printer question... [Solved]

Postby ReemZ » Fri Mar 12, 2010 19:12

Hi all!

OK, so I haz a printer nao.............and I have nó clue where to start!
All I know is how to connect the thing, physically that is, from here I have absolutely no idea what to do next, not even what to look into. Obviously I tried searching here and the wiki for the only keyword I know, "printer", obviously without usable results.

What should I look for?
Last edited by ReemZ on Sat Mar 13, 2010 14:54, edited 1 time in total.
Handtekening? Zeg...ik ga niet op m'n monitor schrijven!
ReemZ
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 701
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:50
Location: Here! No, here! Over heeeeeeere!

Re: Printer question...

Postby Darksurf » Fri Mar 12, 2010 21:49

you can use cups to configure and install ur printer.

open firefox and type this in the address box

http://localhost:631

and use that to install a new printer. ;)

if you have an hp printer then you need to "equo install hplip"
before you use CUPS (Common Unix Printing System)
~ Y </0 5+Up1</ P30p[Ez +Ry 2 R34</ D1s? ~
Darksurf
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 782
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 4:01

Re: Printer question...

Postby ReemZ » Fri Mar 12, 2010 22:00

How nice:
Failed to Connect
Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at localhost:631.

hplip is installed, version 2.8.7, not the most recent one but I'm currently on the old SL4 install again (having probs with SL5 but that's another story)
Nothing on wiki but forum search: Search found 684 matches: cups
Guess I've got some homework now :lol:
Handtekening? Zeg...ik ga niet op m'n monitor schrijven!
ReemZ
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 701
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:50
Location: Here! No, here! Over heeeeeeere!

Re: Printer question...

Postby Darksurf » Fri Mar 12, 2010 22:03

equo install cups,
rc-update add cupsd

reboot
retry

NOTE: its better to be updated to the current branch too. So if you can, it would be wiser to upgrade to Sabayon 5 and if you wait for a bit we may have 5.2 released before long ;)
~ Y </0 5+Up1</ P30p[Ez +Ry 2 R34</ D1s? ~
Darksurf
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 782
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 4:01

Re: Printer question...

Postby ReemZ » Fri Mar 12, 2010 22:18

cups is installed (not the latest version either, 1.3.10-r1, but that shouldn't be a problem), added rc-update (as you didn't specify a runlevel I assume it needn't be added to boot?)
I'll reboot later and come back with the results, thanks!

As for better to be updated...if I could boot into it, yeah...
Handtekening? Zeg...ik ga niet op m'n monitor schrijven!
ReemZ
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 701
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:50
Location: Here! No, here! Over heeeeeeere!

Re: Printer question...

Postby Darksurf » Fri Mar 12, 2010 22:22

no, it needed to be added to runlevel default, thats after boot.

if you don't specify a runlevel it should default to default ;) lol.
~ Y </0 5+Up1</ P30p[Ez +Ry 2 R34</ D1s? ~
Darksurf
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 782
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 4:01

Re: Printer question...

Postby ReemZ » Fri Mar 12, 2010 22:33

It did, just asking to be sure ;)
Handtekening? Zeg...ik ga niet op m'n monitor schrijven!
ReemZ
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 701
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:50
Location: Here! No, here! Over heeeeeeere!

Re: Printer question...

Postby ReemZ » Sat Mar 13, 2010 14:46

Rebooted, I can now add printers! :D
Let's see if I manage to do so, I'll get back and mark this solved as soon as I've managed to actually print a page ;)
Thanks mate! :D
Handtekening? Zeg...ik ga niet op m'n monitor schrijven!
ReemZ
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 701
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:50
Location: Here! No, here! Over heeeeeeere!

Re: Printer question...

Postby ReemZ » Sat Mar 13, 2010 14:53

w00t! Works! :D

Thanks again mate! :D
Handtekening? Zeg...ik ga niet op m'n monitor schrijven!
ReemZ
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 701
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:50
Location: Here! No, here! Over heeeeeeere!

Re: Printer question... [Solved]

Postby ReemZ » Sun Mar 14, 2010 4:27

Just to let you know it also works perfectly in SL5 too :D
Handtekening? Zeg...ik ga niet op m'n monitor schrijven!
ReemZ
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 701
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:50
Location: Here! No, here! Over heeeeeeere!

Next

Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron