wicd error after upgrade?

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
kingpeng0318
Baby Hen
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 2:20

wicd error after upgrade?

Post by kingpeng0318 » Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:42

after my upgrading, when I reboot my computer, a error " could not cnonnect to wicd's D-Bus interface, CHeck the wicd log for messages", but if I run wicd-gtk in terminal ,it will run. can anyone help me? thx a lot

micia
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41
Contact:

Re: wicd error after upgrade?

Post by micia » Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:57

What does the wicd log contains?

It should be in /var/log/wicd.

kingpeng0318
Baby Hen
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 2:20

Re: wicd error after upgrade?

Post by kingpeng0318 » Sun Mar 07, 2010 14:29

micia wrote:What does the wicd log contains?

It should be in /var/log/wicd.

another problem, when I plugged in my USB disk, it shows an error occurred while accessing media, the sys responded org.freedesktop,haal device volume unknowmfailure, iscallerprevileged() failed

micia
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41
Contact:

Re: wicd error after upgrade?

Post by micia » Sun Mar 07, 2010 17:26

I understand, but with no log I can only guess what is happening, however, is your user in the plugdev group?

Darksurf
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 787
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 4:01

Re: wicd error after upgrade?

Post by Darksurf » Thu Mar 11, 2010 5:16

OK to use wicd-gtk, you need the daemon running and NetworkManager not. So try this as root in a terminal

/etc/init.d/NetworkManager stop

/etc/init.d/wicd

now try running wicd-gtk.

:mrgreen: I know, its not easy to get used to but it works. If you want you can remove NetworkManager and make wicd default just by doing this.

equo install wicd (if you don't have it installed yet)
equo remove networkmanager
rc-update add wicd

now wicd daemon will come on at boot up. you can just add wicd-gtk shortcut to ~/.kde4/Autostart/
and now it will come on when you login to KDE (if that is your DE)
~ Y </0 5+Up1</ P30p[Ez +Ry 2 R34</ D1s? ~

Post Reply