I like my resolution lower than Sabayon's default

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

I like my resolution lower than Sabayon's default

Postby Trespasser » Sat Feb 13, 2010 1:50

Hi,
I'm relatively new to Sabayon (I tried it about a year ago) but not to Linux (5 years and counting). I download 5.1 and installed it today on my Lenovo G530 laptop and everything's fine except for my screen resolution. The default resolution is 1280x800 but my wife and like it at 800x600. The only problem is when I set it at 800x600 I get these 2 to 3 inch black bars or borders on either side of the main screen. In other words, the screen draws in from the side. My lspci graphics card info is as follows....

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub (rev 09)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)

My xorg.conf shows that it is using an intel driver.

Is there anything I can do or adjust to get a fully utilized screen? I don't have this problem in Ubuntu. BTW, the same problem on the 1024x768 setting as well. Only the 1280x800 setting functions as I would term normally.

Thanks for any help on this matter.

Later...
Trespasser
Baby Hen

Re: I like my resolution lower than Sabayon's default

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Mon Feb 15, 2010 18:47

You don't mention whether you are using KDE or GNOME. Which one is it? And, if the former, which version?