Subpixel hinting, how do I enable it on Sabayon?

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Subpixel hinting, how do I enable it on Sabayon?

Postby urlwolf » Sat Jan 16, 2010 15:16

leofreak, gnome, KDE, other?
were you using entropy for the rest, and emerge just for this?
urlwolf
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 11:34

Re: Subpixel hinting, how do I enable it on Sabayon?

Postby LeoFreak » Sun Jan 17, 2010 1:50

urlwolf wrote:leofreak, gnome, KDE, other?
were you using entropy for the rest, and emerge just for this?


GNOME. These libraries were already installed, recompile is needed to enable hinting. I'm not sure if it works for KDE/Qt-based apps (as far is I know, except by cairo, the other libraries are also used by Qt for font rendering).
LeoFreak
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 15:54

Re: Subpixel hinting, how do I enable it on Sabayon?

Postby urlwolf » Sun Jan 17, 2010 17:09

I worry that by using emerge I'll screw up my entropy-based install.
Did you never use entropy on your system? If not, you are mixing portage and entropy. A big no-no unless you know what you are doing. I don't dare try your solution :)
urlwolf
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 11:34

Re: Subpixel hinting, how do I enable it on Sabayon?

Postby eerok » Sun Jan 17, 2010 22:45

urlwolf wrote:I worry that by using emerge I'll screw up my entropy-based install.
Did you never use entropy on your system? If not, you are mixing portage and entropy. A big no-no unless you know what you are doing. I don't dare try your solution :)

I wasn't aware that this was a no-no. I had to emerge gvim to get it to work, but I certainly don't want to compile everything.

For what it's worth, I had an ugly firefox when I first installed 5.1 with Fluxbox, but somewhere along the way it got fixed, and it now looks fine. (Using KDE now.)

Not sure if this worked this time, but I always throw this in my .Xdefaults, and it's made a difference at times:
Code: Select all
Xft.dpi: 100
Xft.antialias: true
Xft.hinting: true
Xft.hintstyle: hintslight
Xft.rgba: none
noobus perpetuus
eerok
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 20:38

Re: Subpixel hinting, how do I enable it on Sabayon?

Postby urlwolf » Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:54

I just checked, and gvim doesn't work for me either.
I get:

gvim: symbol lookup error: gvim: undefined symbol: PL_stack_sp

We both should fill a bug report (bugs.sabayon.com)
urlwolf
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 11:34

Re: Subpixel hinting, how do I enable it on Sabayon?

Postby eerok » Tue Jan 19, 2010 14:03

urlwolf wrote:We both should fill a bug report (bugs.sabayon.com)

It's already been done: bug 1108.
noobus perpetuus
eerok
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 20:38

Re: Subpixel hinting, how do I enable it on Sabayon?

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:37

LeoFreak wrote:
DontPanic wrote:Have a look at this topic on Gentoo's forum:

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-805623.html

Among other things, it talks about enabling subpixel hinting.


This guide solved my problem partially, the hinting is enabled but it has coloured borders around the fonts.

EDIT: solved in Gentoo way:

Code: Select all
euse --enable truetype type1 cleartype corefonts
emerge --sync
emerge libXft fontconfig cairo freetype


Thank you all for the help.

Just an update: the USE flag should be "type3" now, not "type1".
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Subpixel hinting, how do I enable it on Sabayon?

Postby DontPanic » Wed May 05, 2010 19:32

It looks like most of us could get by without either 'type1' or 'type3'

I ran a 'equery hasuse -p -o type1', and came back with an empty result.

I ran 'equery hasuse -p -o type3', and the only packages that uses it is media-gfx/fontforge.

It's description for the typ3 USE flag is:
type3 - Build in support for type3/svg fonts containing multilayered drawing with strokes, fills, images, etc. Type3 fonts are only supported by postscript printers (not by most windowing displays). They are capable of more exotic images than normal fonts but require much more effort to support.
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750@ 2.66GHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
2 GB RAM
DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Previous

Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron