Page 1 of 1

Sabayon Firewall Question [Solved]

Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 19:25
by gewehr
Hi, i am a impressed by Sabayon 5.1 Linux. :D
I`m using Gnome desktop on my PC and there no such thing visible as FIREWALL... :( I
How can i be sure about security on my OS?
Can anybody help me with this issue, please. I am familiar with Firestarter FIREWALL - any suggestion?
Thank you :)

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 19:54
by lxnay
No need for a firewall, there are no services listening outside your loopback device by default. Leave firewalls to Windows users.

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 20:06
by gewehr
Thank you, lxnay :D
That`s why there are no such application... in Sabayon. GREAT!!!
Thanx again :cheers:

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Posted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:56
by gallienus
Also, most modem-routers and wired or wireless routers have some sort of firewall features built right into them. Google your equipment's make and model number just to make sure.

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Posted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 18:07
by gewehr
Thank you, gallienus . :)
But how about using IP tables? :roll:
Thanx again.

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:44
by wolfden

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question

Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 10:12
by gewehr
Thank you, wolfden.
Very useful information :D

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question [Solved]

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 16:22
by tman7510
Maybe it would be a good idea to have iptables installed by default. That way if a user wants to host a samba or nfs share they will be able to do so without opening those ports to the world. That way the user can limit access to that share at the firewall. This will just add to the user friendliness of sabayon. Obviously any experienced user will just install iptables :D

Re: Sabayon Firewall Question [Solved]

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 16:54
by lxnay
iptables is available.