4GByte RAM @ Sabayon 32bit

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

4GByte RAM @ Sabayon 32bit

Postby phoenix_art » Sat Dec 12, 2009 9:42

Hello,

I just want to enable. How to do it?

Thanks.
phoenix_art
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 23:52

Re: 4GByte RAM @ Sabayon 32bit

Postby wolfden » Sat Dec 12, 2009 10:01

wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: 4GByte RAM @ Sabayon 32bit

Postby phoenix_art » Sat Dec 12, 2009 12:07

Thanks. Anyone could solve it with install the correct server-kernel?

Another Linux I used installing server-kernel solved this problem. Now installed server-kernel with Sulfur but I have only 3GByte yet. :(
phoenix_art
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 23:52

Re: 4GByte RAM @ Sabayon 32bit

Postby wolfden » Sat Dec 12, 2009 12:26

I don't follow what you're saying but you need the high mem option in the kernel config like the link I gave you said. If it is not, than recompile kernel with the option, use genkernel, which is also posted in that link I gave you.
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: 4GByte RAM @ Sabayon 32bit

Postby phoenix_art » Sat Dec 12, 2009 16:48

"you need the high mem option in the kernel config" -> Could you explain me howto do, because I tried the links but don't understand them. I'm a new with Sabayon and I wouldn't do any mistakes with my system.
phoenix_art
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 23:52

Re: 4GByte RAM @ Sabayon 32bit

Postby zhivago » Sat Dec 12, 2009 20:25

Hi,
The best option would be to opt for sabayon 64-bit which will by native support RAM ranging from 4 to 64 GB (am not sure about the upper limit) , but you need to have 64bit CPU which normally all CPU are nowadays
thanks,
zhivago
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:39

Re: 4GByte RAM @ Sabayon 32bit

Postby phoenix_art » Sat Dec 12, 2009 21:38

I have 64bit CPU but I think 64bit Linux systems aren't better than 32bit one because of compatibility of programs etc. What do you think?
phoenix_art
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 23:52



Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron