Stable enough for a work computer?

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Stable enough for a work computer?

Postby ghostautumn » Tue Dec 08, 2009 6:08

Hi, I've been using Linux for a couple years now, but I've never tried Sabayon. I've been looking for a distro with KDE that is really stable, and sadly there's not a lot of reviews on 5 oh! so I thought I'd just straight up ask whether other users' experience of Sabayon 5 oh! is that it is stable enough that everything generally just works, and that there aren't a lot of glitches or bugs. By stable I mean as or more stable than, say, the latest OpenSUSE or Mandriva, which seem to be my only other options really. The programs I regularly use are Firefox, Open Office, Virtual Box, BasKet, Kontact, a music program, etc. What do people think? I really like the looks of it, I've just been having a lot of problems with other distros that I really don't have time for at the moment, I just want something that works and that I can use to get my work done without many interruptions. Thanks for any help people can give me.

Autumn
ghostautumn
Baby Hen

Re: Stable enough for a work computer?

Postby Marius » Tue Dec 08, 2009 9:37

I use generally speaking, GNOME, but am not averse to using KDE, Xfce, fluxbox, or Openbox. I have an impression that Sabayon Linux is absolutely stable ''enough'' with both GNOME and KDE very well supported and polished.

The developers/support team is small but highly professional and dedicated. And Fitzcarraldo is simply fabulous and irreplacable in his role of the Sabayon forum Guardian-Angel: patient, well informed and always ready to help.