smb problem after KDE 4.3.2 update: Sabayon 5.0 KDE [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Samba stopped working

Postby iamkrazee » Fri Oct 30, 2009 4:54

On the bright side however, samba 3.4.3 has been released. Now I'm going to compile it from source.
iamkrazee
Young Hen
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 13:25

Re: Samba stopped working

Postby iamkrazee » Fri Oct 30, 2009 5:25

yeah.. that didn't work either. This is getting very strange.
iamkrazee
Young Hen
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 13:25

smb broken after update

Postby snakebte65 » Sun Nov 01, 2009 1:17

I've just installed Sabayon 5.0 for the first time and am very new to Linux on the whole. So far I love it and am almost ready to abandon windoze altogether. I have run into a small problem though, last night Sulfer told me I had a bunch of updates.. so I ran all 600+ updates and now I can't see my shared directories on my win home server. Before the update Dolphin had the windows share listed in the network section, and now it is just gone. I've attempted to go to smb://server/ with no luck. I can go into XBMC and navigate to the windows share there, unfortunately I'm attempting to move my data off the windows server so I can reformat the server turn it into a Linux server... so I need to be able to read my shared folders in Sabayon. I already searched the forums and I do see that there was a similar issue last year when a user upgraded from KDE 3.5.9 to 3.5.10, If i understand this correctly Sulfer says I'm running KDE 4.3.2, previous to the update I had been running whatever version is on the install DVD. Thanks for your help
snakebte65
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 1:00


Re: smb broken after update

Postby snakebte65 » Sun Nov 01, 2009 2:54

Thanks.. guess I should have been searching for samba not just smb... I'll keep an eye on the bug.
snakebte65
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 1:00

Re: Samba stopped working

Postby MadOp » Sun Nov 01, 2009 20:19

I am not *entirely* sure this is due to the latest updates...

I just added this to the bug report:

Maybe it is not related to the latests updates... I have a relatively fresh
install of 5.0 , KDE, AMD_64. Did not upgrade samba or KDE yet, but I have the
same samba crash upon boot then login.

FWIW here is a trail of tests with samba's init script, notice how it appears to
fail at restarting the crashed service and properly detect its real status

Sabayon user # /etc/init.d/samba status
* status: crashed
Sabayon user # /etc/init.d/samba start
* WARNING: samba has already been started
Sabayon user # /etc/init.d/samba status
* status: crashed
Sabayon user # /etc/init.d/samba stop
* samba -> stop: smbd... [ ok ]
* samba -> stop: nmbd... [ ok ]
Sabayon user # /etc/init.d/samba status
* status: stopped
Sabayon user # /etc/init.d/samba start
* samba -> start: smbd...
* start-stop-daemon: /usr/sbin/smbd is already running [ !! ]
* samba -> start: nmbd... [ ok ]
* Error: starting services (see system logs)
* samba -> stop: smbd... [ ok ]
* samba -> stop: nmbd... [ ok ]
* ERROR: samba failed to start
Sabayon user # /etc/init.d/samba status
* status: stopped

Test done under
- KDE 4.3.1
- Samba 3.3.6


Regards
MadOp
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 20:17

Re: Samba stopped working

Postby iamkrazee » Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:47

Correct link for the bug is : http://bugs.sabayonlinux.org/show_bug.cgi?id=983

Anyway, there's about 50 updates available, including samba. I'm installing them right away. Will report back in a few mins.
iamkrazee
Young Hen
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 13:25

Re: Samba stopped working

Postby iamkrazee » Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:16

No change... Still the same problems persist.
iamkrazee
Young Hen
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 13:25

Re: Samba stopped working

Postby tyranny12 » Sat Nov 07, 2009 18:30

@iamkrazee

What happens if you mount it via the command line?

Code: Select all
mkdir /media/test
mount -t cifs //servername/foldername /media/test


As root.
tyranny12
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:17

Re: Samba stopped working

Postby iamkrazee » Sat Nov 07, 2009 19:13

Code: Select all
# mount -t cifs //alok-laptop/HOMES .
mount error: could not resolve address for alok-laptop: Name or service not known
No ip address specified and hostname not found


That is my laptop that sometimes could be accessed by that name, otherwise with IP address.

This is the output with IP address instead of the name
Code: Select all
# mount -t cifs //192.168.1.25/STUFFDRIVE .
Password:
mount error(13): Permission denied
Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g. man mount.cifs)


I guess it's working then... Although I really do not remember setting a password.
iamkrazee
Young Hen
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 13:25

PreviousNext

Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest