Sabayon 4.1 K; do not use kuser

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK
Contact:

Sabayon 4.1 K; do not use kuser

Post by dunsurfin » Thu Apr 30, 2009 0:30

Using kuser to add myself to the lp group made my root and user passwords fail. I advise against using it. Reported as issue 638
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!

Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Sabayon 4.1 K; do not use kuser

Post by Thev00d00 » Thu Apr 30, 2009 8:53

Strange, i thought we had sorted this out
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Sabayon 4.1 K; do not use kuser

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Wed May 20, 2009 23:07

Just came across Superadduser which is in Portage (but not Entropy). Looks like it would do what you want, if you don't want to use KUser.

screenshot

Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Sabayon 4.1 K; do not use kuser

Post by Thev00d00 » Thu May 21, 2009 8:52

Kuser is fixed now however =D
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me

imperialeagle79
Baby Hen
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 20:39
Location: Washington DC area

Re: Sabayon 4.1 K; do not use kuser

Post by imperialeagle79 » Sat Jun 06, 2009 12:03

Thev00d00 wrote:Kuser is fixed now however =D
As of when? I just had a problem this last weekend, it messed up my root and user passwords. (The added guest account worked perfectly! With 0 access to anything :roll: ) I'm pretty sure I was up to date on packages as well.

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Sabayon 4.1 K; do not use kuser

Post by wolfden » Sat Jun 06, 2009 16:04

yea, it's still not safe to use

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Sabayon 4.1 K; do not use kuser

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Sat Jun 06, 2009 16:41

Fitzcarraldo wrote:Just came across Superadduser which is in Portage (but not Entropy). Looks like it would do what you want, if you don't want to use KUser.

screenshot
Might be an idea to add this package to the Entropy repository, especially as it's independent of the desktop environment and can be used in any, or even on a TTY console.

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Sabayon 4.1 K; do not use kuser

Post by wolfden » Sat Jun 06, 2009 16:51

I find doing:

# useradd -m -G users,wheel,audio -s /bin/bash john
# passwd john
Password: (Enter the password for john)
Re-enter password: (Re-enter the password to verify)

much easier than firing up a gui, just add whatever groups you want with it

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Sabayon 4.1 K; do not use kuser

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Sat Jun 06, 2009 17:18

I'm sure you do, but newcomers might find Superadduser less daunting.

User avatar
amoebios
Growing Hen
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 22:25
Contact:

Re: Sabayon 4.1 K; do not use kuser

Post by amoebios » Tue Jun 09, 2009 9:34

There should be a warning in KUser or it should be removed/hidden until it's fixed. I just ran into that problem. :?

Auto-login saved me from losing access to my account, but i can't perform any administrative tasks now. Any way to recover the root account or reset the password?

Edit:
I'm thinking if you open KUser, add users, then set the passwords for the old users it would prevent losing the passwords. Can somebody confirm that? (or what exactly happens with the passwords?)

Post Reply