Sabayon 4.1 K; do not use kuser

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Sabayon 4.1 K; do not use kuser

Postby dunsurfin » Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:03

amoebios wrote:Auto-login saved me from losing access to my account, but i can't perform any administrative tasks now. Any way to recover the root account or reset the password?


If you have your livecd you can reset your passwords. Here is how I was talked through it:
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Sabayon 4.1 K; do not use kuser

Postby amoebios » Tue Jun 09, 2009 13:46

Thanks.

Few questions:
What should i replace <your install> with? And am i right that it will also work from LiveUSB? (that's how i installed Sabayon)
Would it also work with another version or distro?
User avatar
amoebios
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 22:25

Re: Sabayon 4.1 K; do not use kuser

Postby dunsurfin » Tue Jun 09, 2009 14:00

amoebios wrote:Thanks.

Few questions:
What should i replace <your install> with? And am i right that it will also work from LiveUSB? (that's how i installed Sabayon)
Would it also work with another version or distro?


"your install", in my case is sda7. It's the partition your Sabayon is installed to. It should also work with a LiveUSB or any other distro which will recognise your installation.
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Sabayon 4.1 K; do not use kuser

Postby amoebios » Tue Jun 09, 2009 16:38

Thank You.
User avatar
amoebios
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 22:25

hald failed to start [Solved]

Postby Aakhunaten » Tue Jun 09, 2009 18:03

I had installed Sabayon 4 and had been working for some time. In the meantime, I have updated the system through 4.1 to 4.2. Today however, after upgrading VirtualBox to 2.2.4, I got this error about user vboxadd unknown. On searching the net, I saw this solution to just create that user. I did using kuser (kde4), and after that, i could not log in at all!

Since I have openSUSE on my other partition, I booted into openSUSE and saw that files passwd, groups, shadow and gshadow had been modifed. SO, i reverted the same to the previous version. Now, when i booted, I cannot type anything either ... i checked the logs and I see that hald is not started.

Here is the log

<<

Jun 9 22:08:16 aquarius [ 30.674622] Bluetooth: BNEP (Ethernet Emulation) ver 1.3
Jun 9 22:08:16 aquarius [ 30.674624] Bluetooth: BNEP filters: protocol multicast
Jun 9 22:08:16 aquarius [ 30.702916] Bridge firewalling registered
Jun 9 22:08:16 aquarius [ 31.335335] fbcondecor: console 0 using theme 'sabayon'
Jun 9 22:08:16 aquarius [ 31.435541] fbcondecor: switched decor state to 'on' on console 0
Jun 9 22:08:16 aquarius /etc/init.d/hald[6798]: ERROR: hald failed to start
Jun 9 22:08:16 aquarius /etc/init.d/NetworkManager[6800]: ERROR: cannot start NetworkManager as hald would not start
Jun 9 22:08:16 aquarius avahi-daemon[7011]: Found user 'avahi' (UID 108) and group 'avahi' (GID 444).
Jun 9 22:08:16 aquarius avahi-daemon[7011]: Successfully dropped root privileges.
Jun 9 22:08:16 aquarius avahi-daemon[7011]: avahi-daemon 0.6.24 starting up.
Jun 9 22:08:16 aquarius avahi-daemon[7011]: Successfully called chroot().
Jun 9 22:08:16 aquarius avahi-daemon[7011]: Successfully dropped remaining capabilities.
Jun 9 22:08:16 aquarius avahi-daemon[7011]: Loading service file /services/sftp-ssh.service.
Jun 9 22:08:16 aquarius avahi-daemon[7011]: Loading service file /services/ssh.service.

>>>>


I use an acer aspire 8930G laptop.

I have searched a lot and i do not see a single solution anywhere ... can someone please help me with this? The only other solution is to just reinstall the os...but i have done that too many times for Sabayon. :( I like Sabayon, but i find it too fragile! A small issue and the OS just becomes unusable!

Thanks in advance
aakhunaten
Aakhunaten
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 19:25

Re: hald faild to start

Postby wolfden » Tue Jun 09, 2009 21:05

for VB - http://wiki.sabayonlinux.org/index.php? ... Virtualbox

can you issue
Code: Select all
/etc/init.d/hald stop

then do
Code: Select all
/etc/init.d/hald start


is there an error? Is your internet working?
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Sabayon 4.1 K; do not use kuser

Postby amoebios » Wed Jun 10, 2009 4:33

Command /bin/bash not found on sda1 and LVM on sda2 not recognized. :?
User avatar
amoebios
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 22:25

Re: hald faild to start

Postby Aakhunaten » Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:15

Hi,

Thanks for the speedy reply.

I just want to clarify that VirtualBox was upgraded correctly and it was working well except for the error message that poped up during boot about vboxadd user unknown. Other than that everything was fine! I went ahead and used kuser to add vboxadd user (according to a solution I found in the forums) and that is when everything went haywire!

After adding the user and on reboot (to test that the error message about the unknown user does not appear), the system did not let me type anything in the login screen, almost like my keyboard was stuck. Subsequent reboots had the same effect. I then booted into my openSUSE and looked at the /avar/log/messages to see what was wrong. That is how i found that hald was throwing an error and was not started.

I know I have got a similar issue last time I tried to use kuser. So I am beginning to feel that kuser is the actual culprit and that it has messed something up.

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance.
aakhunaten
Aakhunaten
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 19:25

Re: hald faild to start

Postby wolfden » Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:25

yes, using kuser is bad, see:
viewtopic.php?f=57&t=16777
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: hald faild to start

Postby Aakhunaten » Wed Jun 10, 2009 6:34

Ugh! I hope I can set everything back right, i dont want to reinstall yet again!

Thanks, Wolfden.

aakhunaten
Aakhunaten
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 19:25

PreviousNext

Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron