No nsplugin for JRE/JDK [Solved]

Anything that pertains to Entropy, Equo or Sulfur

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
tman7510
Simple Hen
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:51

No nsplugin for JRE/JDK [Solved]

Post by tman7510 » Sat Feb 13, 2016 5:49

So I see the error nsplugin not found or no module when installing JDK/JRE/Icedtea.

I've tried to follow directions from forums on how to get the java browser plugins to work but when I try eselect to set

the plugin there isnt even the java-nsplugin option? So there is no nsplugin module? How do I build this needed module or do

I need to install a kernel that already has the module? No one else seems to have this issue. I have a clean install of Sabayon

16.02 MATE. This is very strange

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3569
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: No nsplugin for JRE/JDK

Post by sabayonino » Sat Feb 13, 2016 13:10

OMG : java inside the kernel ? :twisted:

https://packages.sabayon.org/quicksearc ... in&x=0&y=0

nsplugin flag is enabled in icedtea7 & C.
-selinux -infinality -javascript -pax_kernel -debug -examples cups cjk abi_x86_64 amd64 -zero webstart gtk -nss -doc nsplugin jbootstrap alsa kerberos awt kernel_linux -smartcard -source -test -jamvm pulseaudio -sctp elibc_glibc sunec -elibc_FreeBSD -cacao userland_GNU
:roll:

PS : maybe you're looking for : www-plugins/nspluginwrapper

Code: Select all

# equo s www-plugins/nspluginwrapper

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: No nsplugin for JRE/JDK

Post by wolfden » Sat Feb 13, 2016 13:54

I believe you need to create the symbolic link, for example

as user

Code: Select all

mkdir /home/spongebob/.mozilla/plugins
as root

Code: Select all

ln -s /opt/oracle-jdk-bin-1.8.0.66/jre/lib/amd64/libnpjp2.so /home/spongebob/.mozilla/plugins/
and java works fine here in my firefox, shouldn't need nspluginwrapper

tman7510
Simple Hen
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:51

Re: No nsplugin for JRE/JDK

Post by tman7510 » Sat Feb 13, 2016 16:13

@sabayonino LOL of course no java in the kernel. Eselect was throwing an error failed to load module. I didn't think the plugin module was java specific. Every article I found used Eselect then setting the symbolic link.

Update: Wolfden was right, I just needed the symbolic link.

Thanks for your help guys. :D

Post Reply