problem launching Rigo [Solved]

Anything that pertains to Entropy, Equo or Sulfur

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
zeitdroid
Baby Hen
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 0:18

problem launching Rigo [Solved]

Post by zeitdroid » Mon Mar 09, 2015 22:42

Hi everybody,
after an upgrade post installation i found unable to launch Rigo, it says that i haven't the right permissions.
in rigo.deamon.log i find this:
[19:11:14 09/03/2015 CET] INFO: [19:11:14 09/03/2015 CET] __init__: dbus service loaded, pid: 14558, ppid: 1, exec: /usr/lib/rigo/RigoDaemon/app.py
What does it mean?
thanks.
Last edited by zeitdroid on Fri Mar 27, 2015 11:13, edited 1 time in total.

Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8195
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: problem launching Rigo

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Wed Mar 11, 2015 16:58

No idea, but you could try using Equo on the command line to see if it fixes Rigo:

Code: Select all

$ su
Password: <--- Enter root user's password, not your user account password.
# equo update
# equo upgrade
# equo libtest
# equo deptest
# equo conf update
# exit
exit
$

Stupot
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1733
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: problem launching Rigo

Post by Stupot » Thu Mar 12, 2015 5:59

Just for the sake of enlightenment, I'll attempt to explain what some of that means.

pid = process id. It's a unique number for that process.
ppid = parent process id. The parent process that spawned this process. ppid of 1 means that the parent process was the init process (it's always pid 1).

dbus is a system set up for applications to be able to commicate with each other. The RigoDaemon runs via dbus. Rigo should talk to the daemon when it's up an running.

All that seems fine, but it doesn't contain any error to give us a clue why Rigo isn't working for you. I agree with trying what Fitz indicated.

Also, make sure your user is a part of the entropy group.

Code: Select all

$ groups
If not:

Code: Select all

 gpasswd -a <user> entropy

User avatar
aposteeltje
Baby Hen
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 16:53

Re: problem launching Rigo

Post by aposteeltje » Thu Mar 12, 2015 21:57

both the files:
/usr/bin/rigo
and
/usr/lib/rigo/RigoDaemon/app.py
must set to user root and group root (chown root:root), with file permissions set to: -rwxr-xr-x (chmod 755)
Could it be that a upgrade messed things up?
Can you check if this is still the case?

Code: Select all

ls -l /usr/bin/rigo;ls -al /usr/lib/rigo/RigoDaemon/app.py
output must be similar to this:
  • -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 38032 Jan 13 11:23 /usr/bin/rigo
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 149951 Jan 13 11:25 /usr/lib/rigo/RigoDaemon/app.py
If not, try to change that as root, with chown & chmod., resp.
and try again...
aposteeltje = batvink

zeitdroid
Baby Hen
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 0:18

Re: problem launching Rigo

Post by zeitdroid » Wed Mar 18, 2015 9:17

hi everybody,t when i try:
[email protected] ~ $ groups
wheel users plugdev luca
[email protected] ~ $ gpasswd -a <luca> entropy
bash: luca: File o directory non esistente
what's the problem with it?

zeitdroid
Baby Hen
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 0:18

Re: problem launching Rigo

Post by zeitdroid » Wed Mar 18, 2015 9:22

aposteeltje wrote:both the files:
/usr/bin/rigo
and
/usr/lib/rigo/RigoDaemon/app.py
must set to user root and group root (chown root:root), with file permissions set to: -rwxr-xr-x (chmod 755)
Could it be that a upgrade messed things up?
Can you check if this is still the case?

Code: Select all

ls -l /usr/bin/rigo;ls -al /usr/lib/rigo/RigoDaemon/app.py
output must be similar to this:
  • -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 38032 Jan 13 11:23 /usr/bin/rigo
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 149951 Jan 13 11:25 /usr/lib/rigo/RigoDaemon/app.py
If not, try to change that as root, with chown & chmod., resp.
and try again...
the output of that code is correct as you showed

zeitdroid
Baby Hen
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 0:18

Re: problem launching Rigo

Post by zeitdroid » Fri Mar 27, 2015 11:12

i solved installing another desktop enviroment like xfce, removing the previous gnome, reinstalling it after a reboot, and then rigo comes back to work properly.
Now i have to check the consistence of the / at next boot.

Stupot
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1733
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: problem launching Rigo

Post by Stupot » Fri Aug 28, 2015 20:44

zeitdroid wrote:hi everybody,t when i try:
[email protected] ~ $ groups
wheel users plugdev luca
[email protected] ~ $ gpasswd -a <luca> entropy
bash: luca: File o directory non esistente
what's the problem with it?

Btw, you weren't supposed to include the arrows your command, that was my way of indicating what you needed to replace.

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ gpasswd -a luca entropy
That would have been correct.

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3372
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: problem launching Rigo

Post by sabayonino » Fri Aug 28, 2015 21:43

Stupot wrote:
zeitdroid wrote:hi everybody,t when i try:
[email protected] ~ $ groups
wheel users plugdev luca
[email protected] ~ $ gpasswd -a <luca> entropy
bash: luca: File o directory non esistente
what's the problem with it?

Btw, you weren't supposed to include the arrows your command, that was my way of indicating what you needed to replace.

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ gpasswd -a luca entropy
That would have been correct.

run this command as root (su , sudo )

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ sudo gpasswd -a luca entropy
see "gpasswd help command"

Code: Select all

$ gpasswd --help

Post Reply