After update.. bye bye my sabayon (...again)[partial Solved]

Anything that pertains to Entropy, Equo or Sulfur

Moderator: Moderators

After update.. bye bye my sabayon (...again)[partial Solved]

Postby sauzher » Tue Aug 20, 2013 10:49

Ok,
perhaps this is the last time I fall into this kind of trouble.
I'm a developer and I work on sabayon in a virtual box machine.
I was an happy sabayon user. I was an happy sabayon evangelist....
I want to be it again.

Please do correct me if I'm wrong...
Assumptions
1) This is rolling distro. Fine.
2) This implies I'm forced to keep updated my envioronment. Fine.
2.bis) if I forget to update for (for example) a couple of weeks, I will not be able to equo install something because equo install will require (most of the times) an equo upgrade first. Fine.

Facts (my cases)
1) system sanity is VERY unpredictable after some weeks sinse last upgrade. (see assumption n.2)
2) system sanity is unpredictable after any equo upgrade too.
3) you may spend whole days to solve "after upgrade issues"
4) perhaps "rolling" stands for something "rolling down the deep"?
-----
Now,
here we are the today trouble.

"After upgrade" sabayon boots and prompts me a beautiful black screen (white solid dash in upper-left corner). No input accepted nor able to change console (no alt-fn# works).

Luckily I'm able to access via ssh. So I attempted to restart xdm, gdm, upgrade kernel, reinstall virtualbox-guest-additions, check xorg.conf, change the eselect sysvinit to systemd (baad idea: nothings boots anymore). Nothing.

GDM: it is started but there is no X server among running processes. And "starting gdm" is the last thing sabayon shows on boot before the black screen.

Trying to "startx", the output is:
Code: Select all
[...]
Loading extension GLX
xinit: giving up
xinit: unable to connect to X server: Connection refused
xinit: server error


Googling for this takes me to a (partial?) solution: to disable glx module in xorg.conf.
It seems that the new xorg version have issues with virtual environments.

So I added these lines to /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Code: Select all
Section "Module"
        Disable "glx"
EndSection


System now starts as usual (or, at least, it seems so).

Happy to contribute.
Unhappy to have to fix things after a (trivial) upgrade.
sauzher
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 8:03

Re: After update.. bye bye my sabayon (again)[partial Solved

Postby albfneto » Tue Aug 20, 2013 16:29

1) This is rolling distro. Fine.
2) This implies I'm forced to keep updated my envioronment. Fine.
2.bis) if I forget to update for (for example) a couple of weeks, I will not be able to equo install something because equo install will require (most of the times) an equo upgrade first. Fine.


This is normal behaviour in many Rolling Release. But you is not "forced" to upgrade all packages.

All of other problems, are generally correlated with incompatibilities of xorg components, video board drivers and kernels, specially if you have ATI boards.

if you dont want to solve these issues, simply mask the kernel, drivers and xorg packages example in NVIDIA

Code: Select all
# equo mask linux-sabayon xorg-drivers xorg-servers nvidia-drivers nvidia-settings nvidia-userspace


modify if you have an ATI or Intel.

Another methods for solve: You may re-install the video drivers, the set 3D accel:

Code: Select all
equo i nvidia-drivers nvidia-settings nvidia-userspace
eselect opengl set nvidia


The kernel was changed? try with Kernel-switcher:

Code: Select all
equo up
kernel-switcher list  (see the latest kernel)
kernel-switcher switch (the latest kernel and version)


Trying open X:

instead of startx, carry out this command:

Code: Select all
# /etc/init.d/xdm restart
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
albfneto@fcfrp.usp.br
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE
User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil

Re: After update.. bye bye my sabayon (again)[partial Solved

Postby sauzher » Thu Aug 22, 2013 7:55

Thanks for you attention alberto.
My issues was not related graphic card since I work in a virtual box environment.

Restarting or reinstalling xdm/gdm/lxdm was unsuccessful cause these are only display managers and all of them lie on X itself. And X was broken by glx module that, as I said, seems to be incompatible in virtual guest environment in the last xorg version.

Your suggestion to mask some packages are indeed a really good way to avoid to get in trouble... but, sooner or later, you'll be asked to update some big (with many deps) package, and the rock'n'roll is around the corner again.
My point is that the final (not necessary a guru) user has to be kept safe from trouble by default.

my best.
sauzher
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 8:03

Re: After update.. bye bye my sabayon (again)[partial Solved

Postby albfneto » Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:18

In fact, in virtual machines env., the 3D acceleration and Compiz effects, are difficult to work... requires high RAM, for good working.

a simple manner is simply to use "vesa" as video driver im xorg.conf, without 3D effects, or 2D free driver for NVIDIA, "nv".
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
albfneto@fcfrp.usp.br
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE
User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil

Re: After update.. bye bye my sabayon (...again)[partial Sol

Postby beamrider » Wed Oct 09, 2013 12:49

libglx in xorg-server-1.14.2 has a bug wich prevents virtualbox driver to initialize properly.
In my system the effect was a corrupt (usually blank) screen on x startup.

Fix is really easy as it's just a missing initialization, should be released in 1.15 and hopefully in 1.14.3.

Meanwhile you can compile your own fixed libglx and replace it.

See:
https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=59825
beamrider
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 12:36
Location: Italy

Re: After update.. bye bye my sabayon (...again)[partial Sol

Postby linuxfluesterer » Wed Oct 09, 2013 13:19

What do I do to recover a (new, due to upgrade) problem is always, I make a complete backup with rsync of my system before upgrading, while I can decide to exclude my /home directory.
Rolling exactly means, that upgrades may lead into bugs which themselves appear problems. But this is the price for almost latest versions of Linux distro's version.
If you want to be stable, then think about a Debian stable, especially when you are developer. Or always keep a good backup from the last working Sabayon system you are running. I mean, backup is duty anyway. I newer regret and sometimes I've made use of it to restore my older Sabayon to get back a working system.

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
TTIP is NOT YET stopped. Especially consider NHS and ISDS topics. Talk to your local politician to open eyes for danger to democracy because of TTIP
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 699
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: After update.. bye bye my sabayon (...again)[partial Sol

Postby akrep55tr » Wed Oct 09, 2013 16:31

linuxfluesterer wrote:....I make a complete backup with rsync of my system ....


How do you do that, can you give examples or any address to read about it? Thanks.
akrep55tr
Young Hen
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 19:14

Re: After update.. bye bye my sabayon (...again)[partial Sol

Postby linuxfluesterer » Wed Oct 09, 2013 17:49

Fine, so, here we are:
Content of my script file to backup a complete Sabayon system (start from Root '/'):
This script opens a seperate xterm window for me to follow the process.
My 1TByte Toshiba hdd is mounted on /media/Toshiba-1TB-jfs. You must adopt for your hdd.
Execute as root (su), pls.
Code: Select all
# ******** Script to backup Sabayon '/' to external hdd ***********
#! /bin/sh     
DATUM=$(date +"%Y%m%d")
KERNEL=$(uname -r)
SOURCE="/"
TARGET="/media/Toshiba-1TB-jfs/Backup/Sabayon_411_K311_"$DATUM
EXFILE="rsync_Sabayon_exclude_directories"
COMMAND="time sudo rsync -av --exclude-from=$EXFILE $SOURCE $TARGET"
xterm -bg white -fg black -hold -e "$COMMAND"
***************************************************************

Content of 'rsync_Sabayon_exclude_directories'
Code: Select all
# **********************************************
/dev/*
/home/linuxfluesterer/Video/*
/home/linuxfluesterer/VirtualBox VMs
/media/*
/mnt/sda3/*
/proc/*
/run/*
/sys/*
/tmp/*
/var/run/*
/var/tmp/*
# **********************************************

You can exclude every directory and its subdirectory by using /dir/subdir/*. If you forget to exclude mounted devices, they will be backuped also. As standard they are mounted under /run/media/username/
So, also, you may exclude a complete home subdirectory, when you put /home/linuxfluesterer/* into exclude file above.
Exactly /proc, /run, /sys, and /tmp are empty when boot, and will be created and filled by Sabayon while boot process.
/var/run and /var/tmp also. But /var itself contains many logfiles, which should be useful for error analysis.
Hope to help you.

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
TTIP is NOT YET stopped. Especially consider NHS and ISDS topics. Talk to your local politician to open eyes for danger to democracy because of TTIP
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 699
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: After update.. bye bye my sabayon (...again)[partial Sol

Postby akrep55tr » Wed Oct 09, 2013 20:41

Thank you very much.
akrep55tr
Young Hen
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 19:14

Re: After update.. bye bye my sabayon (...again)[partial Sol

Postby sabayonino » Wed Mar 19, 2014 19:12

Nice , but ... do you know rsnapshot ?

it's esaly to configure

see https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/A_simple_b ... _rsnapshot

http://www.rsnapshot.org/
You can configure rnspashot using various indipendent configuration files (not only rsnapshot.conf)


rnsnapshot in my Gentoo :
weekly for / (Home excluded)
daily for my Home
Monthly for other Documents folders

Code: Select all
# equo i rsnapshot

* The template configuration file has been installed as
* /usr/share/doc/rsnapshot-1.3.1-r2/rsnapshot.conf.default
* Copy and edit the the above file as /etc/rsnapshot.conf



Code: Select all
# bunzip2  rsnapshot.conf.default.bz2 /etc/rsnapshot.conf
User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2464
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy

Next

Return to Entropy|Equo|Rigo Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron