Rigo/Fonts Issues with latest updates [Solved]

Anything that pertains to Entropy, Equo or Sulfur

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Rigo: Problems after Update in SL X (17/01/2013)

Postby linuxfluesterer » Mon Jan 21, 2013 23:34

Ryuno-Ki wrote:Have any of you guys ever thought of launching Rigo from CLI?
Open a terminal or a konsole and run
Code: Select all
$ rigo


Of course I started rigo from CLI (konsole) for error message display after first time, when I launched Rigo by clicking.
The result is the same (for me). For you not? I'd really wonder, if it would work properly when launched by CLI.

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
I really hope, that by the Brexit (poor Britain), TTIP will be finally prevented. But don't get tired to talk to your local politician to open eyes for danger to democracy because of TTIP
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Graphics in Rigo Pooched

Postby Butch Cassidy » Mon Jan 21, 2013 23:43

Image

Every search looks like that. Reinstall didn't do much. Any clues?

TY.
Butch Cassidy
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 18:14

Re: Graphics in Rigo Pooched

Postby dunsurfin » Tue Jan 22, 2013 0:25

Is that a fault - or a new UI? A double click will open the item with details.
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Graphics in Rigo Pooched

Postby Butch Cassidy » Tue Jan 22, 2013 0:32

Ah. If you see it then you're probably right.

It looks messy compared to before but I'll live with it.

Thanks anyway.
Butch Cassidy
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 18:14

Re: Graphics in Rigo Pooched

Postby dunsurfin » Tue Jan 22, 2013 0:38

Butch Cassidy wrote:Ah. If you see it then you're probably right.

It looks messy compared to before but I'll live with it.

Thanks anyway.


I'm not sure - it was just a guess - as it is messy. Rigo is a work in progress though.
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Graphics in Rigo Pooched

Postby Ryuno-Ki » Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:52

Butch Cassidy wrote:Every search looks like that.

It's a known issue.
However, I'll report this topic and ask for closing or merging. It's more comfortable to discuss at just one place, you know? ;-)
HP-Pavilion ◆ AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 4000+ ◆ GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 ◆ 1 GiB RAM
German Wiki translator ◆ Want to contribute on the wiki? Ask the Bureaucrats!
Please, mark solved threads ◆ Posts unread and unansweredPackage requests ◆ Sabayon XI with MATE
Ryuno-Ki
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 22:15
Location: Southern Germany

Re: Rigo: Problems after Update in SL X (17/01/2013)

Postby Ryuno-Ki » Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:06

linuxfluesterer wrote:Of course I started rigo from CLI (konsole) for error message display after first time, when I launched Rigo by clicking.
The result is the same (for me). For you not? I'd really wonder, if it would work properly when launched by CLI.


No, it does not work on my system either. But I am used to expect more … verbose error messages on CLI than on GUI. Hm, I tend to assume a problem with GTK-libraries. Maybe someone should fork rigo and implement a Qt-version :mrgreen:
HP-Pavilion ◆ AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 4000+ ◆ GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 ◆ 1 GiB RAM
German Wiki translator ◆ Want to contribute on the wiki? Ask the Bureaucrats!
Please, mark solved threads ◆ Posts unread and unansweredPackage requests ◆ Sabayon XI with MATE
Ryuno-Ki
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 22:15
Location: Southern Germany

Re: Graphics in Rigo Pooched

Postby Butch Cassidy » Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:09

I really don't care one way or another.


;)
Butch Cassidy
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 18:14

Re: Graphics in Rigo Pooched

Postby dunsurfin » Tue Jan 22, 2013 12:11

Butch Cassidy wrote:I really don't care one way or another.


;)


:lol:
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Rigo: Problems after Update in SL X (17/01/2013)

Postby linuxfluesterer » Tue Jan 22, 2013 14:05

Ryuno-Ki wrote:No, it does not work on my system either. But I am used to expect more … verbose error messages on CLI than on GUI. Hm, I tend to assume a problem with GTK-libraries. Maybe someone should fork rigo and implement a Qt-version :mrgreen:

Due to the GTK error messages, when rigo is launched by CLI I agree to a problem with GTK also. And I see it system immanent. And if I'm right, other members have problems with GTK also, when using Cairo (only assumption).
So, I've done a test to proof the assumption, that GTK is the reason: I have replaced the actual libgtk*.* in /usr/lib/ by libgtk*.* from my backup, I did before I made my upgrade on 17/01/2013.
Two libgkt-files were changed in last upgrade:
/usr/lib/libgtk-3.so.0.600.3 (before it was libgtk-3.so.0.400.4)
and
/usr/lib/libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0.2400.14 (before it was libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0.2400.10)
So, I replaced the newer libgtk-files with the older and also I replaced the files which are linked to those two libgtk-files:
Code: Select all
/usr/lib/libgtk-3.so -> libgtk-3.so.0.400.4
/usr/lib/libgtk-3.so.0 -> libgtk-3.so.0.400.4

and
Code: Select all
/usr/lib/libgtk-x11-2.0.so -> libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0.2400.10
/usr/lib/libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0 -> libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0.2400.10

After replacing (no reboot necessary) I've launched Rigo and that's what I get now:
Image

So, this proofs, that gtklibs are the cause for weird appearing. And I assume in every programme, which uses gtklibs, those problems can appear.
I'd call it a bug, so hereby I'd like to ask, to whom I can send gtk bugs (moderators?).

Hope to help anyway. At the moment, I'll work with old gtk-libraries.

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
I really hope, that by the Brexit (poor Britain), TTIP will be finally prevented. But don't get tired to talk to your local politician to open eyes for danger to democracy because of TTIP
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Entropy|Equo|Rigo Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests