Page 1 of 1

New to Sabayon, Magneto Doesn't Always Work.

Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:59
by chris_debian
Hi, all!

I'm fairly new to Sabayon (and I love it). I have had a new installation for four days now and I was a little concerned that Magneto hadn't told me about any updates. I know it is perfectly acceptable not to have any updates, but I thought I'd try to use equo, just in-case.

I ran the commands that can be found here:

http://wiki.sabayon.org/index.php?title ... d_packages

and I have 90 updates. These are installing now, including some package management stuff (Entropy etc). I'm happy to do updates from the terminal, but just wondered whether anyone else has had problems with the update icon?

Cheers,

Chris.

Re: New to Sabayon, Magneto Doesn't Always Work.

Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 10:12
by lxnay
We have migrated to a new client/server API and this required an entropy update client-side. Once you upgrade to Entropy >=1.0_beta1 everything should be back to normality.

Re: New to Sabayon, Magneto Doesn't Always Work.

Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 10:30
by chris_debian
I'll check which version I have (edit I have 1.0_Beta 2), when the current updates have finished. I must have missed the message in 'Entropy Store' that mentioned this.

Thanks for your help.

Chris.