Souceforge as repo and +

Anything that pertains to Entropy, Equo or Sulfur

Moderator: Moderators

Souceforge as repo and +

Postby mitcoes » Mon Apr 18, 2011 11:52

I want to know how can i put sorurceforge as repository in equo if it is possible.
And If there are a way of adding PPAs or similar.
Some programs are not at Gentoo or Sabayon, or they are not at the latest version as Qbittorrent, - I prefer it to Vuze -
And I would like to install them but I cannot find a tutorial with "how to add new sources".

And as a gentoo distro I have read it is possible to add dpkg, and i supose install deb packages. Probably with some risk to system stability - or not - I'm just beginning with Sabayon It would be awesome - perhaps in a future - a stable way of having all Linux packages in a distro where you can choose what you want from all the Linux universe.
mitcoes
Young Hen

Re: Souceforge as repo and +

Postby joost » Mon Apr 18, 2011 11:58

net-p2p/qbittorrent

regarding the other questions, you need to understand how things work.
Have a look at the wiki. THEN have a look at the Gentoo handbook.
joost
Sagely Hen

Postby micia » Mon Apr 18, 2011 12:08

Sabayon has 2 supported package managers:
1) entropy: binary based, easy to use and recommended, equo is its TUI and Sulfur is its GUI
2) portage: source based, advanced and very updated, inherited from Gentoo, emerge is its TUI, it has many GUIs but usually it is preferred to use it from a command line.

Any other way of installing software is discouraged and possibly dangerous, most importantly, it is unsupported. Meaning that if your system breaks down, we can't help you and we can't know what is going wrong.
The other ways include using dpkg, rpm, ./configure && make && make install and such.
Are you sure that they are not available in portage?

I get:
Code: Select all
eix qbittorrent
* net-p2p/qbittorrent
     Available versions:  2.2.11 2.5.5 (~)2.7.2 [M](~)2.8.0_beta2 **9999 {+X dbus geoip libnotify}