Trying to run equo update

Anything that pertains to Entropy, Equo or Sulfur

Moderator: Moderators

Trying to run equo update

Postby splippity » Fri Sep 10, 2010 0:46

Im trying to run
Code: Select all
equo update


and it keeps stating: Repository is being updated. Try again in a few minutes.
which is fine but Ive been trying for 2hrs with no luck.....

I havent updated in almost a month or I wouldnt normally care.

Thanks.
splippity
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 21:29

Re: Trying to run equo update

Postby giannis12a » Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:30

Code: Select all
pleiades giannis # equo update
>>  @@ Repositories synchronization ...
>>      [sabayon.org:1026] Successfully connected to host
>>      [sabayon.org:1026] Successfully disconnected from host
>>   # Sabayon Linux Official Repository
>>   # Repository URL: http://pkg.sabayon.org/standard/sabayonlinux.org/database/amd64/5
>>   # Repository local path: /var/lib/entropy/client/database/amd64/sabayonlinux.org/standard/amd64/5
>>   # Repository API: 3
>>      [sabayon.org:1026] Successfully connected to host
>>      [sabayon.org:1026] Successfully disconnected from host
>>      Attention: repository is already up to date.


Take a look of my repository. Have you the same?

And try this
Code: Select all
#equo install entropy sulfur equo --nodeps


and try again. :?:
Image
giannis12a
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 16:07
Location: Athens

Re: Trying to run equo update

Postby splippity » Fri Sep 10, 2010 19:27

yeah mine looks like:
Code: Select all
# equo update
>>  @@ Repositories synchronization ...
>>      [sabayon.org:1026] Successfully connected to host
>>      [sabayon.org:1026] Successfully disconnected from host
>>   # Sabayon Linux Official Repository
>>   # Repository URL: http://pkg.sabayon.org/standard/sabayonlinux.org/database/x86/5
>>   # Repository local path: /var/lib/entropy/client/database/x86/sabayonlinux.org/standard/x86/5
>>   # Repository API: 3
>>      [sabayon.org:1026] Successfully connected to host
>>      [sabayon.org:1026] Successfully disconnected from host
>>      Attention: Repository is being updated. Try again in a few minutes

also tried
Code: Select all
 # equo install entropy sulfur equo --nodeps
and had no luck running update afterwards.
splippity
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 21:29

Re: Trying to run equo update

Postby splippity » Fri Sep 10, 2010 19:29

also before I forget Im running:

Code: Select all
> sys-apps/entropy-0.99.49.21-r2
splippity
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 21:29

Re: Trying to run equo update

Postby gowger » Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:16

Me too, can't remember how to reset the repository and download all again but that would probably fix it. did you get anywhere ?

equo update --force

doesn't get anywhere either!
gowger
Young Hen
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 17:13

Re: Trying to run equo update

Postby cmost » Sat Nov 19, 2011 0:15

I can confirm this problem. I haven't received any updates for a month and wondered what was going on, then stumbled upon this thread. I tried killing the auto-updater in the sys tray but still had no luck. Has anyone made any headway? Any devs care to comment?
AMD Phenom II 64 X6 1090T Black Edition
8192 MB DDR2 RAM
nVidia GeForce GTX 660 w 2048 MB DDR5
Sabayon 2014.x 64 Bit KDE
"Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt." -- Abraham Lincoln
cmost
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 22:25
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: Trying to run equo update

Postby genfool » Sat Nov 19, 2011 3:20

sys-apps/entropy-0.99.49.21-r2

I would rather see the output of
Code: Select all
equo --version

I would then try
Code: Select all
equo update --force

Code: Select all
equo install equo entropy

Code: Select all
equo upgrade

The problem here as I think I read it, when you log in and try to update ... you are getting the error to try again later.

Later never comes. I think that magneto is running and some how getting hung up, giving you this error.
In the past, I have been able to get around this by using alt ctrl f1 at the login manager ... log in as root at a terminal and run the updates. This would prevent magneto from starting and interfering. This may or may not work.
Plan B, maybe just add nox to kernel boot line in grub, would boot to terminal and do the upgrade.
Whole point is, magneto is a gui app, if you prevent the gui from starting, magneto will not start.
Depending on what equo --version shows, you may just have to install entropy from portage.
Was a version released about a month ago, was only out for a few hours before caught and updated, you may have that version?

You could boot a live disk and chroot into it and install the updates .... takes me about 5 min for chroot and get the updates going. You only need equo update and equo install equo entropy, exit the terminal or chroot ... what ever process you use to keep magneto from starting, then finish the update in your normal manner.

Couple ideas for you to try, but post back the output of equo --version. for more suggestions.
genfool
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 17:56
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: Trying to run equo update

Postby cmost » Sat Nov 19, 2011 18:36

Thanks genfool for your input. Here's some output as you requested...


equo --version
Code: Select all
[email protected] ~ $ sudo equo --version
entropy: 1.0_rc63
equo: 1.0_rc63


equo update --force
Code: Select all
[email protected] ~ $ sudo equo update --force
>>  @@ Repositories synchronization ...
>>   # Sabayon Linux Limbo Repository
>>   # Repository URL: http://svn.sabayonlinux.org/entropy/standard/sabayon-limbo/database/amd64/5                                             
>>   # Repository local path: /var/lib/entropy/client/database/amd64/sabayon-limbo/standard/amd64/5                                             
>>   # Repository API: 2
>>      Attention: Repository is being updated. Try again in a few minutes.                                                                     
>>   # Sabayon Linux Official Repository
>>   # Repository URL: http://svn.sabayonlinux.org/entropy/standard/sabayonlinux.org/database/amd64/5                                           
>>   # Repository local path: /var/lib/entropy/client/database/amd64/sabayonlinux.org/standard/amd64/5                                         
>>   # Repository API: 3
>>      Attention: Repository is being updated. Try again in a few minutes.                                         


equo install equo entropy
Code: Select all
[email protected] ~ $ sudo equo install equo entropy
>>  @@ Calculating dependencies ...
>>  ## [R] [sabayonlinux.org] sys-apps/entropy-1.0_rc63|0   [1.0_rc63|0]
>>  ## [R] [sabayon-limbo->sabayonlinux.org] app-admin/equo-1.0_rc63|0   [1.0_rc63|0]
>>  @@ Packages needing to be installed/updated/downgraded: 2
>>  @@ Packages needing to be removed: 0
>>  @@ Download size: 0b
>>  @@ Freed disk space: 0.0b
>>  @@ You need at least: 1.8MB of free space
>>  :: (1/1) >>> 2 packages
>>    ## Package checksum matches: sys-apps:entropy-1.0_rc63~0.tbz2
>>    ## Package checksum matches: app-admin:equo-1.0_rc63~0.tbz2
>>  ++ (1/2) >>> sys-apps/entropy-1.0_rc63
>>    ## Unpacking: sys-apps:entropy-1.0_rc63~0.tbz2
>>    ## SPM: setup phase
>>    ## Installing package: sys-apps/entropy-1.0_rc63
>>    ## [Entropy Package Manager foundation library]
>>    ## Updating database: sys-apps/entropy-1.0_rc63
>>    ## Cleaning previously installed application data.
>>    ## SPM: post-remove phase
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
>>    ## SPM: post-install phase
 * Purging current Entropy cache
 * Compilation and optimization of Python modules placed outside of site-packages directories for CPython 2.7 ...                        [ ok ]
Switching to python2.7

 * If you want to enable Entropy packages delta download support, please
 * install dev-util/bsdiff.

>>    ## Cleaning: sys-apps/entropy-1.0_rc63
>>  ++ (2/2) >>> app-admin/equo-1.0_rc63
>>    ## Unpacking: app-admin:equo-1.0_rc63~0.tbz2
>>    ## Installing package: app-admin/equo-1.0_rc63
>>    ## [Entropy Package Manager text-based client]
>>    ## Updating database: app-admin/equo-1.0_rc63
>>    ## Cleaning previously installed application data.
>>    ## SPM: post-remove phase
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
>>    ## SPM: post-install phase
 * Compilation and optimization of Python modules placed outside of site-packages directories for CPython 2.7 ...                        [ ok ]

 * If you would like to allow users in the 'entropy' group
 * to update available package repositories, please consider
 * to install sys-apps/entropy-client-services

>>    ## Cleaning: app-admin/equo-1.0_rc63
>>  @@ Installation complete.
>>  @@ Configuration files scan complete.


equo upgrade
Code: Select all
[email protected] ~ $ sudo equo upgrade
>>  @@ Calculating System Updates...
>>  @@ Nothing to update.
>>  @@ Nothing to remove.
>>  @@ Configuration files scan complete.


Essentially no change. I guess I'll have to try the chroot route. That could be intimidating for noobs.
AMD Phenom II 64 X6 1090T Black Edition
8192 MB DDR2 RAM
nVidia GeForce GTX 660 w 2048 MB DDR5
Sabayon 2014.x 64 Bit KDE
"Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt." -- Abraham Lincoln
cmost
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 22:25
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: Trying to run equo update

Postby cmost » Sat Nov 19, 2011 20:28

*Update*

I booted my system without X, and received exactly the same error when attempting to run 'equo update'. This rules out a misbehaving Magneto or other entropy / equo GUI application.

I was able to use 'emerge' to pull in the latest versions of entropy and equo, even though I typically do not mix emerge and entropy on the same system. As you can see from the output of equo --version, I have upgraded from version 1.0_rc63 to 1.0_rc76.
Code: Select all
[email protected] ~ $ sudo equo --version
Password:
entropy: 1.0_rc76
equo: 1.0_rc76


Attempted to to update using 'equo update' and 'equo update --force' to no avail. I think this rules out the possibility of a bad equo or entropy version.

Code: Select all
[email protected] ~ $ sudo equo update
Password:
>>  @@ Repositories synchronization ...
>>   # Sabayon Linux Limbo Repository
>>   # Repository URL: http://svn.sabayonlinux.org/entropy/standard/sabayon-limbo/database/amd64/5
>>   # Repository local path: /var/lib/entropy/client/database/amd64/sabayon-limbo/standard/amd64/5
>>   # Repository API: 2
>>      Attention: Repository is being updated. Try again in a few minutes.
>>   # Sabayon Linux Official Repository
>>   # Repository URL: http://svn.sabayonlinux.org/entropy/standard/sabayonlinux.org/database/amd64/5
>>   # Repository local path: /var/lib/entropy/client/database/amd64/sabayonlinux.org/standard/amd64/5
>>   # Repository API: 3
>>      Attention: Repository is being updated. Try again in a few minutes.


Finally, I used the latest available official Sabayon 7 ISO and created a bootable live USB. I then booted from this and chrooted into my installation from the live-cd environment. Tried to use equo to update the system and guess what...EXACTLY THE SAME ERROR!

My system has been installed for nearly two years, rolling right along. Based on a hunch, I copied the /etc/entropy/repositories.conf file from the live CD and overwrote my local one (backed up beforehand, of course.) Now it seems that equo is updating the repositories. Now there are 606 packages needing upgrade/downgrade/changed. I guess this problem is solved for me! :D
AMD Phenom II 64 X6 1090T Black Edition
8192 MB DDR2 RAM
nVidia GeForce GTX 660 w 2048 MB DDR5
Sabayon 2014.x 64 Bit KDE
"Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt." -- Abraham Lincoln
cmost
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 22:25
Location: Cincinnati, OH


Return to Entropy|Equo|Rigo Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest