Page 1 of 1

ImportError: cannot import name print_menu

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:37
by wilsaba
Hello ppl

I was trying to update my system with the Sulfur GUI, and I got some error about Sulfur package update.
Net day I tried the same thing again, but the GUI did not open. Instead, I was offered to sent an error report, witch I did.
Then I tried the same but at the CLI.
I got this message:

sudo equo conf update
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/equo", line 24, in <module>
from entropy.output import red, darkred, darkgreen, print_menu, TextInterface, \
ImportError: cannot import name print_menu

Does someone has some clue about how to fix this?
Thanks

Re: ImportError: cannot import name print_menu

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:55
by wilsaba
This may also interest. Its the error report mentioned in the previous post


Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/lib/entropy/sulfur/sulfur-client.py", line 102, in <module>
MAIN_APP.init()
File "/usr/lib/entropy/sulfur/sulfur/__init__.py", line 98, in init
self.setup_gui()
File "/usr/lib/entropy/sulfur/sulfur/__init__.py", line 304, in setup_gui
self.Equo.connect_to_gui(self)
File "/usr/lib/entropy/sulfur/sulfur/entropyapi.py", line 308, in connect_to_gui
self.nocolor()
AttributeError: 'Equo' object has no attribute 'nocolor'

Frame connect_to_gui in /usr/lib/entropy/sulfur/sulfur/entropyapi.py at line 308
application = <sulfur.SulfurApplication instance at 0xc906c8>
self = <sulfur.entropyapi.Equo object at 0xf6d590>

Re: ImportError: cannot import name print_menu

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:18
by wilsaba
Maybe this is not an easy fix.
I've seen a few similar posts without any replay, or without any evidence that the issue were finally fixed.
Maybe I'll have to live without updates. Hope not.

Re: ImportError: cannot import name print_menu

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:36
by dunsurfin
I had the same error and worked round it by using portage to reinstall all the entropy/equo apps. Everything is working OK now.

Re: ImportError: cannot import name print_menu

Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 23:55
by wilsaba
Thanks for your answer, dunsurfin .

I've been looking, hitting and missing around the Portage. In fact I never used or heard about it before, as I'm quite new at Linux.

I would be grateful in case you find the time to show me what is the sequence of commands to install one of the mentioned pakages

Cheers

Re: ImportError: cannot import name print_menu

Posted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 1:25
by wolfden
Please see:
http://wiki.sabayon.org/index.php?title ... t_to_do.3F

It will give you all the info needed to install entropy via our overlay

Re: ImportError: cannot import name print_menu

Posted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:12
by dunsurfin
As you're new to portage it may be a good idea to look at these pages too: http://wiki.sabayon.org/index.php?title ... tage_Guide
There is an excellent GUI for portage called portato and you can get that by using (as root)

Code: Select all

 emerge portato
.
Just let us know if you have any problems getting sulfur and entropy installed via portage.
It's worth noting that "equo" will not "know" that you've reinstalled via portage unless you tell it with the

Code: Select all

equo database gentoosync
function. When I ran into the same problem and reinstalled via portage, the next

Code: Select all

equo update
and

Code: Select all

equo upgrade
told me that I still needed to install the latest versions. I just let it complete and didn't suffer any bad consequences.