how to upgrade sabayon-mce?

Anything that pertains to Entropy, Equo or Sulfur

Moderator: Moderators

how to upgrade sabayon-mce?

Postby vampirecoffee » Fri Oct 30, 2009 0:42

When I try to equo upgrade, this is what happens:

Code: Select all
>>  @@ Calculating dependencies ...
>>  @@ Cannot find needed dependencies:
>>     # Not found: >=x11-apps/xinit-1.0.8-r10
>>       # Probably needed by:
>>         #  [from:sabayonlinux.org] app-misc/sabayon-mce-1.0-r5
>>  @@ Caching complete.


However, the latest version of xinit in entropy is 1.0.8-r8.

Do I have to move to the limbo repository in order for equo upgrade to work?
Sabayon: Thinkpad T61 w/ Core2Duo 2.4 GHz, nVidia Quadro 140M
Other Sabayon: Homebuilt Intel Core2Duo 3.0 GHz, nVidia GeForce 8600
vampirecoffee
Young Hen
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 21:32

Re: how to upgrade sabayon-mce?

Postby albfneto » Fri Oct 30, 2009 2:16

if i understood, you cam upgrade the lite MCE ?
If this, seems to me that the Lite MCE is very old!
it is in the Branch 3, the sabayon servers, the packages, are now for branch 4 and 5
the Branch 3 packages were deleted, and the lite MCE is no more supported officially.

The Limbo repo is for the future 5.1! if you activate it, the upgrade will be even more difficult!

The only manner to update MCE Sabayon, lite is using only Portage, but is veru difficult, since also the SLOTs mmay be different...

The more easy method, is to backup important data, download the new sabayon five and install it.

or is the package MCE? if this, try install it with no dependencies:

Code: Select all
sudo equo install sabayon-mce
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE
User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1728
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil

Re: how to upgrade sabayon-mce?

Postby vampirecoffee » Fri Oct 30, 2009 3:49

I'm already using branch 5. I tried

Code: Select all
sudo equo install sabayon-mce


but it gave me the same message about dependencies that were missing.
Sabayon: Thinkpad T61 w/ Core2Duo 2.4 GHz, nVidia Quadro 140M
Other Sabayon: Homebuilt Intel Core2Duo 3.0 GHz, nVidia GeForce 8600
vampirecoffee
Young Hen
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 21:32

Re: how to upgrade sabayon-mce?

Postby lonesomecrow » Fri Oct 30, 2009 5:32

Same thing happens here, it's kinda odd! But maybe it will get fixed soon. Maybe Wolfden or someone can help us!
lonesomecrow
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 5:16

Re: how to upgrade sabayon-mce?

Postby Rev.Dr.SparkiHooker » Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:03

I had the same problem and just removed the sabayon-mce package and have updated fine.
Rev.Dr.SparkiHooker
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 0:20

Re: how to upgrade sabayon-mce?

Postby joost » Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:55

Fixing it now.
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: how to upgrade sabayon-mce?

Postby Marius » Fri Oct 30, 2009 10:08

Same here: equo world results in the following error:

Code: Select all
>>  @@ Calculating dependencies ...
>>  @@ Cannot find needed dependencies:
>>     # Not found: >=x11-apps/xinit-1.0.8-r10
>>       # Probably needed by:
>>         #  [from:sabayonlinux.org] app-misc/sabayon-mce-1.0-r5
>>  @@ Caching complete.


What is the proper way to proceed? I am reluctant to uninstall sabayon-mce-1.0-r5 until somebody confirms that it is harmless.
Marius
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 5:48
Location: Berkeley, California

Re: how to upgrade sabayon-mce?

Postby joost » Fri Oct 30, 2009 10:10

equo update
and try again.
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: how to upgrade sabayon-mce?

Postby Marius » Fri Oct 30, 2009 10:22

Thank you very much! equo upgrade now proceeds without error.
Marius
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 5:48
Location: Berkeley, California

Re: how to upgrade sabayon-mce?

Postby lonesomecrow » Fri Oct 30, 2009 19:11

Thanks Joost. We need a thanks button like in other forums, that way we can just click thanks whenever someone helps us.
lonesomecrow
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 5:16


Return to Entropy|Equo|Rigo Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest