Installing Gnome alongwith KDE. [Solved]

Anything that pertains to Entropy, Equo or Sulfur

Moderator: Moderators

Installing Gnome alongwith KDE. [Solved]

Postby akshay.sulakhe » Mon Sep 21, 2009 19:44

Hello friends,
Last time when i downloaded 4.1 dvd of KDE,i tried to install gnome via network using equo as suggested by some user. The command i guess was equo install gnome-lite -y . while this may have worked. after completion,my system refused to boot. i dont know why. now what shud i do to get gome alongwith properly running. please help. Thanks.
akshay.sulakhe
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 22:04
Location: India

Re: Installing Gnome alongwith KDE.

Postby micia » Mon Sep 21, 2009 20:14

The command should be:
Code: Select all
equo install --ask gnome-light


You should, most likely, run:
Code: Select all
equo conf update

after this, then, ensure that DISPLAYMANAGER is equals to the correct login manager,
in the /etc/conf.d/xdm config file.
In your system it should be:
Code: Select all
DISPLAYMANAGER=kdm

if you did not change it.

This is just a guess, you should provide more details on your boot failure, like,
do you get a login window or a black textual login screen?
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Installing Gnome alongwith KDE.

Postby akshay.sulakhe » Mon Sep 21, 2009 21:20

one question. i dont know who has the answer. why were the desktop environment splitted up. any specific reason. it was so nice.
akshay.sulakhe
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 22:04
Location: India

Re: Installing Gnome alongwith KDE.

Postby micia » Mon Sep 21, 2009 21:37

In my personal opinion it is better now, since having just one Desktop Environment is
more scalable and rational :)
I think it is just a matter of tastes, anyway it is very easy to just install, for example, the
Gnome version and, after the installation, just launch:
Code: Select all
equo update
equo install kde-meta
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Installing Gnome alongwith KDE.

Postby wolfden » Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:53

akshay.sulakhe wrote:one question. i dont know who has the answer. why were the desktop environment splitted up. any specific reason. it was so nice.


More convenient for people, we can produce a better/stronger ISO and easier to fix bugs, highly requested, great feedback, ....
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Installing Gnome alongwith KDE.

Postby akshay.sulakhe » Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:42

ya...i can see that..overall stability has increased. Anywayz.i prefer my old ways. thanks for the help. And ya. Sabayon 4.2 KDE is just awesome. No hassles. just works. Thanks for that.
akshay.sulakhe
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 22:04
Location: India


Return to Entropy|Equo|Rigo Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron