Equo and Portage Don't Get Along

Anything that pertains to Entropy, Equo or Sulfur

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
wsx11
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 5:50

Equo and Portage Don't Get Along

Post by wsx11 » Sat Jul 25, 2009 6:00

Hello all,
I've recently switched my laptop from Gentoo to Sabayon just to try it out. I used portage to install a few packages (notably php) which Entropy's repository didn't have configured quite as well as I'd like. When I go to do an equo world, entropy wants to "downgrade" the packages from portage to the entropy version.

ignore-spm-downgrades|enable does not seem to work.

I have done all of the gentoosync steps multiple times to no avail.

Thanks for your help.

(I'm running the most recent Sabayon/Entropy, installed from the 4.1K disk and hopped to 5)

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Equo and Portage Don't Get Along

Post by wolfden » Sat Jul 25, 2009 8:58

mask them in entropy with the package.mask file for entropy?

wsx11
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 5:50

Re: Equo and Portage Don't Get Along

Post by wsx11 » Sat Jul 25, 2009 15:14

When I mask them in /etc/entropy/packages/package.mask (by version or entirely) entropy exits with

"Every Package matching ... has been masked." Normally this is what I'd expect, but it doesn't seem to be detecting the portage packages at all.

Thanks.

wsx11
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 5:50

Re: Equo and Portage Don't Get Along

Post by wsx11 » Sat Jul 25, 2009 16:04

It may not be the most elegant solution, but I added

Code: Select all

*/*-r9999
to entropy's package.mask and it would appear to be working.

This will likely cause problems later down the road, but I'll deal with those as they come.

I could mark this thread [SOLVED] but the issue of ignore-spm-downgrades not working still persists.

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Equo and Portage Don't Get Along

Post by wolfden » Sat Jul 25, 2009 18:19

did you file a bug?

Post Reply