Sabayon 4 on virtual box-->4.2 not happening [Solved]

Anything that pertains to Entropy, Equo or Sulfur

Moderator: Moderators

Sabayon 4 on virtual box-->4.2 not happening [Solved]

Postby stevencomerthornley » Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:21

I installed s4 on a virtual box and using equo did a world update, but when it goes to install the 300+ upgrades it stops and fails and says that the cache is empty.

currently the kernel is running at linux-2.6.27-sabayon

I'm stuck just need a push

did the equo deptest and libtest but can't get past the empty cache

any ideas?
Last edited by stevencomerthornley on Fri Jun 26, 2009 18:26, edited 1 time in total.
Dual boot XP/Sabayon64bit
amd64 4200+ x2
GeForce 7900GS 256MB
MSI K8N Neo4-F 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD MB
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 610W PSU
OCZ Platinum 2G DDR 400
Creative X-Fi / on board AC'97sound
4 hdd-->xp/multimedia/storage/linux
stevencomerthornley
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 4:50
Location: Pennsylvania-USA

Re: sabayon 4 on virtual box-->4.2 not happening

Postby genfool » Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:35

uPdating from 4.0... had some minor quirks, would first suggest this link.

viewtopic.php?f=57&t=16399

On the wiki you will find this link, Worth the effort to follow it, if you still have issues after following these links, we will keep the light on.

http://wiki.sabayonlinux.org/index.php? ... t_to_do.3F
genfool
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 17:56
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: sabayon 4 on virtual box-->4.2 not happening

Postby stevencomerthornley » Thu Jun 25, 2009 14:35

it appears that a well placed
<Ctrl> C and then
equo world --resume --skipfirst
got it going down the right path
Dual boot XP/Sabayon64bit
amd64 4200+ x2
GeForce 7900GS 256MB
MSI K8N Neo4-F 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD MB
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 610W PSU
OCZ Platinum 2G DDR 400
Creative X-Fi / on board AC'97sound
4 hdd-->xp/multimedia/storage/linux
stevencomerthornley
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 4:50
Location: Pennsylvania-USA

Re: sabayon 4 on virtual box-->4.2 not happening

Postby stevencomerthornley » Fri Jun 26, 2009 13:30

Code: Select all
>> Resume cache corrupted.



This keeps happening and I can't get a full

Code: Select all
equo world


to occur without interrupting it and doing a resume --skipfirst

what's up?
Dual boot XP/Sabayon64bit
amd64 4200+ x2
GeForce 7900GS 256MB
MSI K8N Neo4-F 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD MB
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 610W PSU
OCZ Platinum 2G DDR 400
Creative X-Fi / on board AC'97sound
4 hdd-->xp/multimedia/storage/linux
stevencomerthornley
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 4:50
Location: Pennsylvania-USA

Re: sabayon 4 on virtual box-->4.2 not happening

Postby stevencomerthornley » Fri Jun 26, 2009 13:51

http://nopaste.com/p/ackgyjf5s

I did an equo install on both of these but still, this is what happened after an equo update --force, then equo world
Dual boot XP/Sabayon64bit
amd64 4200+ x2
GeForce 7900GS 256MB
MSI K8N Neo4-F 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD MB
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 610W PSU
OCZ Platinum 2G DDR 400
Creative X-Fi / on board AC'97sound
4 hdd-->xp/multimedia/storage/linux
stevencomerthornley
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 4:50
Location: Pennsylvania-USA

Re: [SOLVED]sabayon 4 on virtual box-->4.2 not happening

Postby stevencomerthornley » Fri Jun 26, 2009 18:27

I had to manually update my grub.conf

after the new kernel .27-->.29 installed, my grub didn't update on it's own.
Dual boot XP/Sabayon64bit
amd64 4200+ x2
GeForce 7900GS 256MB
MSI K8N Neo4-F 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD MB
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 610W PSU
OCZ Platinum 2G DDR 400
Creative X-Fi / on board AC'97sound
4 hdd-->xp/multimedia/storage/linux
stevencomerthornley
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 4:50
Location: Pennsylvania-USA

Re: Sabayon 4 on virtual box-->4.2 not happening [Solved]

Postby wolfden » Sat Jun 27, 2009 0:43

moved to correct forum
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Sabayon 4 on virtual box-->4.2 not happening [Solved]

Postby stevencomerthornley » Sat Jun 27, 2009 3:44

thank you, sir.
Dual boot XP/Sabayon64bit
amd64 4200+ x2
GeForce 7900GS 256MB
MSI K8N Neo4-F 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD MB
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 610W PSU
OCZ Platinum 2G DDR 400
Creative X-Fi / on board AC'97sound
4 hdd-->xp/multimedia/storage/linux
stevencomerthornley
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 4:50
Location: Pennsylvania-USA


Return to Entropy|Equo|Rigo Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest