Page 1 of 1

Spritz won't start since Equo installation [Solved]

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 10:09
by farfnarf
Yesterday I installed and then updated Equo, following instructions in the wiki.

Since that time Spritz will not start; it just flashes for a split second on the screen after I enter the administrator password. There are no error messages.

I cannot find a fix for this after search here and google on "spritz wont start." Any suggestions?

- F -

Re: Spritz wont start (since Equo installation)

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 10:51
by Thev00d00
Code: Select all
equo install sulfur


then run sulfur, spritz has had alot of work and got renamed to "sulfur"

Re: Spritz wont start (since Equo installation)

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 12:40
by farfnarf
Thev00d00 wrote:
Code: Select all
equo install sulfur


then run sulfur, spritz has had alot of work and got renamed to "sulfur"


Thank you for that information and the code.

I ran the code and was startled to see that a package was not being installed, but the entire operating system was being installed; it took longer to complete than the original installation from DVD!

After it finished I rebooted the computer and the login screen appeared normally. I logged in and ran the Sulphur program and it had listed 282 packages that needed updating! So I clicked "select all" and then "ok."

Nothing happened at all. I tried again, and nothing. I waited about 10 minutes, thinking that it was taking time to do something in the background or whatever. Nothing.

So I attempted to invoke Firefox via the taskbar icon. Nothing happened. I tried the menu link of Firefox. Nothing happened.

I then tried other programs. Nothing.

So, I have nothing now instead of Sabayon.

I had no choice but to put my Windows Vista hard drive back into the laptop so I could come here and report my results of running that code, and then so I could get some work done.

I'll check back here later today if I can to see if there are any thoughts, suggestions or other responses to this post. Please refrain from trashing me because I have to use Windows now; I have no choice.. I do need to get some work done and I need the internet and other programs to do that.

- F -

Re: Spritz wont start (since Equo installation)

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 19:38
by dunsurfin
Something to keep in mind when using equo is the --ask suffix. That way you get to see what it wants to do before committing.
It sounds as though your system needs a considerable amount of updating so how about these commands:

Code: Select all
equo update --force

equo install entropy

equo world --ask

Re: Spritz wont start (since Equo installation)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 7:01
by wolfden
moved to correct forum

Re: Spritz won't start (since Equo installation)[RESOLVED]

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 23:38
by farfnarf
This should have been updated weeks ago: I installed 4.2 Gnome and it is running nicely with no
problems at all that I can see so far. The Equo issue is moot. :wink:

Re: Spritz won't start since Equo installation [Solved]

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:45
by wolfden
Edit title as per viewtopic.php?f=57&t=1730