Page 1 of 1

Problem with emerge

Posted: Sun May 17, 2009 12:35
by zehos
Hi,
I have Sabayon 4.1 with KDE, 64bit.

First of all I want to ask if I can use equo and emerge together?

After i updated system with "equo update && equo world", I tried to "emerge --sync && emerge -uNDav world", but there are some errors.

Code: Select all

!!! Problems have been detected with your world file
!!! Please run emaint --check world

!!! Ebuilds for the following packages are either all
!!! masked or don't exist:
x11-plugins/compiz-fusion-plugins-unsupported:0 x11-themes/murrine media-plugins/libvisual-plugins:0

emerge: there are no ebuilds built with USE flags to satisfy ">=sys-auth/pambase-20090430[consolekit,-gnome-keyring]".
!!! One of the following packages is required to complete your request:
- sys-auth/pambase-20090515 (Change USE: +consolekit)
(dependency required by "gnome-base/gdm-2.20.10-r1" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "world" [argument])

Re: Problem with emerge

Posted: Sun May 17, 2009 12:48
by micia
You can use them both, but be very, very careful;
you have to know what you are doing, usually they are mixed just for
special purposes, such as packages missing in entropy or that need special optimizations or
compile flags.

It is recommended to use entropy as the main package manager, and emerge just for special circumnstances,
as it may lead users to some problems.

You have to use:

Code: Select all

equo database gentoosync
to let entropy know what portage did.

And I'd reccomend you to use:

Code: Select all

equo world --ask
for world updating.

Re: Problem with emerge

Posted: Sun May 17, 2009 16:14
by zehos
Thanks for info.
I have one more question, does equo use make.conf?
I use gentoo for about 2 years and I don't like some use flags in Sabayon's make.conf. If I change something does it affect to equo or only to emerge?

Re: Problem with emerge

Posted: Sun May 17, 2009 21:16
by wolfden
zehos wrote:Thanks for info.
I have one more question, does equo use make.conf?
I use gentoo for about 2 years and I don't like some use flags in Sabayon's make.conf. If I change something does it affect to equo or only to emerge?
no it doesn't, equo is binary

portage stuff u need to emaint --fix world

if u want to use portage, do a core install, edit configs, rebuild, than build on top of that

Re: Problem with emerge

Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 16:04
by zehos
So, I should use equo all time, but if I want install application which is missed in equo, I can use emerge (overlay)?
And I think, that I shouldn't use 'emerge -uNDa world', right?

Re: Problem with emerge

Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 10:23
by micia
this is pretty much the suggested way of using the package managers, of course you can
do whatever you want, provided that you know what you are doing.

You can use emerge if you want to remove some dependencies or unwanted application
behaviors too:
for example removing the GTK or QT frontend for Avidemux, removing some
Brasero dependencies on Gnome and so on, but emerge is intended always for "special tasks" that
only a source based package manager can achieve.
This is in order to provide to expert users more flexibility, but it could lead to pitfalls, so be
careful.

Re: Problem with emerge

Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 11:23
by wolfden
It boils down to how much you know and understand. If you're a pro with gentoo, mixing shouldn't be an issue as you know what your doing. New people to a gentoo based system should stick with entropy and if they want to learn portage on the side, it's up to them.

With my Sabayon install I keep a local overlay for things I want/need, grab the ebuild and maintain it myself. Otherwise I am using entropy with it for 95% of the time. emerge -av foo can will tell you which dependencies you need to install via entropy before emerge foo. This way you install 98% of it via entropy and only emerging the actual package you need.

Setup your overlay /usr/local/portage
emerge -av foo ( find the deps needed )
use entropy to install deps
emerge foo

If you follow those steps, you will reduce the chance of breakage greatly.

If you want to go pure portage, do the core install as I described earlier.