equo remove removes too much

Anything that pertains to Entropy, Equo or Sulfur

Moderator: Moderators

Re: equo remove removes too much

Postby joost » Sat May 23, 2009 15:33

Unless there is something in the deptree that MUST be updated that is pulling ALL this in, i doubt that, it might be a bug.

It would be really weird to pull in all this stuff just for a simple thing. But it might just be the downside of a rolling binary tree.

or if i want to keep kde 3.5 and not use & install kde 4.2!?

Too bad, we can't support that not much longer.

@totedati
Maybe you'd better start using portage? Anyway, file a bug report then i'll look into it.
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2548
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: equo remove removes too much

Postby joost » Sat May 23, 2009 18:40

Ok i wanted to see this myself, installed Sabayon 4.1 G in virtual box.
I didn't add or remove anything, i only ran equo update once and the i get:

Code: Select all
xbox-v60 joost # equo install mp3blaster --ask
>>  @@ These are the chosen packages:
>>    # (1/1) media-sound/mp3blaster-3.2.3-r1 >>> Sabayon Linux Official Repository
>>    Versions:    Not installed / NoTag / NoRev ===> 3.2.3-r1 / NoTag / 1
>>    Action:       Install
>>  @@ Packages involved: 1
     Would you like to continue with dependencies calculation ? [Yes/No]
>>  @@ Calculating dependencies ...
>>  @@ These are the packages that would be merged:
>>  ## [U] [sabayonlinux.org] sys-libs/ncurses-5.7|0   [5.6-r2|2]
>>  ## [N] [Not available->sabayonlinux.org] media-sound/mp3blaster-3.2.3-r1|1
>>  @@ Packages needing to be installed/updated/downgraded: 2
>>  @@ Packages needing to be removed: 0
>>  @@ Packages needing to be installed: 1
>>  @@ Packages needing to be reinstalled: 0
>>  @@ Packages needing to be updated: 1
>>  @@ Packages needing to be downgraded: 0
>>  @@ Download size: 1.9MB
>>  @@ Freed disk space: 4.7MB
>>  @@ You need at least: 1.0MB of free space
     Would you like to execute the queue ? [Yes/No]
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2548
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: equo remove removes too much

Postby lxnay » Sat May 23, 2009 19:08

Entropy is a binary package manager, Portage is a SOURCE package manager. To avoid API/ABI breakages, Entropy forces you to update your system if it's not, on install, since Entropy DOES not compile packages from sources.
It happens with EVERY binary-based distribution, they don't do ABI/API breakages to avoid the same issue (especially debian-based systems), we do because we can.

This is a basic explanation btw.
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+
lxnay
Land Owner
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy

Re: equo remove removes too much

Postby dagurasu » Wed Sep 23, 2009 19:08

This thread kind of got hijacked. I don't suppose there is any andvancement on the original issue of making the world file work correctly (like in gentoo) and hence also enabling a reasonable way to calculate equo "remove"s?
dagurasu
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 23:33

Previous

Return to Entropy|Equo|Rigo Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest