Encoding error in the equo command, output [Solved].

Anything that pertains to Entropy, Equo or Sulfur

Moderator: Moderators

Encoding error in the equo command, output [Solved].

Postby albfneto » Mon May 14, 2018 23:19

After upgrades, an error ocur in the equo command, related to encoding, UTF-8, see this, if i execute "equo update":

Code: Select all
# equo up
traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/equo", line 13, in <module>
    from solo.main import main
  File "/usr/lib/entropy/client/solo/main.py", line 17, in <module>
    from entropy.i18n import _
  File "/usr/lib/entropy/lib/entropy/i18n.py", line 50, in <module>
    gettext.install(_GETTEXT_DOMAIN, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/gettext.py", line 569, in install
    t = translation(domain, localedir, fallback=True, codeset=codeset)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/gettext.py", line 554, in translation
    t = _translations.setdefault(key, class_(fp))
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/gettext.py", line 255, in __init__
    self._parse(fp)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/gettext.py", line 413, in _parse
    tmsg = unicode(tmsg, self._charset)
LookupError: unknown encoding: UTF-8


However, the locales seems seted good for Brasil, pt_BR:

Code: Select all
$ locale
LANG=pt_BR.UTF-8
LC_CTYPE="pt_BR.UTF-8"
LC_NUMERIC="pt_BR.UTF-8"
LC_TIME="pt_BR.UTF-8"
LC_COLLATE="pt_BR.UTF-8"
LC_MONETARY="pt_BR.UTF-8"
LC_MESSAGES="pt_BR.UTF-8"
LC_PAPER="pt_BR.UTF-8"
LC_NAME="pt_BR.UTF-8"
LC_ADDRESS="pt_BR.UTF-8"
LC_TELEPHONE="pt_BR.UTF-8"
LC_MEASUREMENT="pt_BR.UTF-8"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="pt_BR.UTF-8"
LC_ALL=


Checking encoding in the terminal, seems OK:

Code: Select all
$ echo $LANG
pt_BR.UTF-8

$ echo -e '\xe2\x82\xac' 



HP that i seen prior to execute the above commands:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/16511040/how-to-work-with-utf-8-in-python-2-7

RIGO not open, and given almost the same error.
Last edited by albfneto on Tue May 15, 2018 17:08, edited 1 time in total.
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE
User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1842
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil

Re: Encoding error in the equo command, output

Postby gentmixer » Tue May 15, 2018 0:18

Hi,
maybe some error by a server (Brasilian?) side?
My "equo" and "rigo" work correctly...
Did you change your fonts config? Maybe simple rebooting problem? I have actually "python3.5" (the first) and "python2.7" (the second)... but "python2.7" is OK, seems to me. Probably there is some error in "python" modules. Check if you have installed all required "python" or "perl" stuff for "gettext" ("python-distutils" or "locale-gettext" or "pygobject" and "python-exec" for example)... downgrade or upgrade it (eventually use "emerge" and "portage")... (I know, "equo" and "rigo" are not working at this moment). Have you "porthole" installed?
gentmixer
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 17:21

Re: Encoding error in the equo command, output

Postby albfneto » Tue May 15, 2018 17:08

Is you certain! Thanks, Solved.
It was an error in the servers.
Today, running "equo up" is OK!
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE
User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1842
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil

Re: Encoding error in the equo command, output [Solved].

Postby gentmixer » Tue May 15, 2018 17:14

Good news! It was my first intuition...
gentmixer
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 17:21


Return to Entropy|Equo|Rigo Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests