Errors in the equo upgrade command [Solved].

Anything that pertains to Entropy, Equo or Sulfur

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1871
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Errors in the equo upgrade command

Post by albfneto » Wed Oct 18, 2017 18:20

can be HDD problems, even it only have 5 or 6 months? reinstall Sabayon? It is fully configurated.
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE

User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1871
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Errors in the equo upgrade command [Solved]

Post by albfneto » Thu Oct 19, 2017 17:34

At this moment, "Solved" but...

I installed, from the more recent Daily Build, another inst. of Sabayon, but in a new partition... will be my "Main Sabayon"..

I maintained the old installation, since is my comp in my job, and i have many, many useful packages, and the system is fully configurated....

the only problem is that cannot be more upgraded, bu the packages (old versions) are working good, and are useful for me.
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE

User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1871
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Errors in the equo upgrade command. Solved but....

Post by albfneto » Sat Oct 21, 2017 21:10

i'm using the new installation of Sabayon, as my "Main Sabayon".

However, i'm curious about how to repair the database of the "old installation".
For example, i seen that Portage is working in it.

Is there a manner for "reconstruct" all the Entropy's database, using Portage? In other words, perhaps repair mu old installation?
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3264
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Errors in the equo upgrade command. Solved but....

Post by sabayonino » Sat Oct 21, 2017 22:47

did have you tried to run the command

Code: Select all

# equo rescue generate
see

Code: Select all

# equo rescue --help
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1871
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Errors in the equo upgrade command. Solved but....

Post by albfneto » Sat Jan 13, 2018 1:21

yes I tried, however seems that the the error still continue:

Code: Select all

# equo up works
but a message of "Corrupt Database"
# equo u
packages are downloaded, unpacking, but
when the system try to install:

see the "last words"

sucesso @ http://sabayon.c3sl.ufpr.br
╠    ## ( mirror #1 ) [sys-process:cronie-1.5.0-r1.dd268a30bb33883928a0b1905a735378cf001d85~0.tbz2] sucesso @ http://sabayon.c3sl.ufpr.br
╠    ## ( mirror #1 ) [virtual:cron-0-r1.26740935603e1f4f6ac5475df0baa6e9dffe77d9~0.tbz2] sucesso @ http://sabayon.c3sl.ufpr.br
╠  +++ >>>  (1/178) sys-apps/sandbox-2.10-r4
╠    ## Desempacotando: sys-apps:sandbox-2.10-r4.1892a96dad7ceb27bc8747ffe857de74dac9ef50~0.tbz2
╠    ## Fase do Pacote: preinstall
╠    ## Instalando pacote: sys-apps/sandbox-2.10-r4
╠    ## [sandbox'd LD_PRELOAD hack]
╠    ## Atualizando repositório dos pacotes instalados: sys-apps/sandbox-2.10-r4
☢ cannot execute handlePackage on this repository: Não é possível continuar
"cannot execute handlePackage on this repository: Not possible to continue"

Since this is my main Sabayon installatiom i working in it each day, but keeping it not upgrade, since i have many installed and working applications....

According to Joost, May I have serious hardware problems, but my HDD have only 6 or 7 months.
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3264
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Errors in the equo upgrade command. Solved but....

Post by sabayonino » Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:10

"7-8 months of operation It doesn't mean that it's free from defects.
A new product may have defects even if new.
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1871
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Errors in the equo upgrade command. Solved but....

Post by albfneto » Fri Jan 19, 2018 20:38

Well... this is the comp of my Job... it have many working packages, and are still useful, despite it is not upgradable

This message is sended using Firefox in this installation.

Curious! Today, i seen that some packages, as GIT, are upgradable using Portage! specially when i use the "--nodeps" option.

even using the regular portage commands... something works well in Portage, example i upgraded my Opera Browser in Portuguese:

Code: Select all

# LINGUAS="pt_BR" L10N="pt-BR" emerge -av opera-developer
this compile the newer Opera Browser, that is working good.

when i have a time, i will make backup of my files and reinstall a new Sabayon.
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE

User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1871
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Errors in the equo upgrade command. Solved but....

Post by albfneto » Tue May 08, 2018 17:59

SOLVED definitive, in a good manner...

I copied the file /var/lib/entropy/client/database/amd64/equo.db from my other installation of Sabayon (same computer and HD, i have the main Sabayon and my "Tests" Sabayon), in the place of the old equo.db and now

Bingo, all is good and working.
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE

Post Reply